Can You Learn to Be Happy? YES . . . according to the teacher of Harvard University's most popular and life-changing course.
This new edition of the most influential self-help book of the last century has been updated under the care of Dale's daughter, Donna, introducing changes that keep the book fresh for today's readers.
In this riveting narrative, Dr. Elisabeth Griffith integrates the fight by white and Black women to achieve equality.
How to Love shows that when we feel closer to our loved ones, we are also more connected to the world as a whole.
25 Million Sparks takes readers inside the Za'atari refugee camp to follow the stories of three courageous Syrian women entrepreneurs.
Soul food has played a critical role in preserving Black history, community, and culinary genius.
A moving and unforgettable story of friendship and bravery, and even more, a story of the ongoing fight to protect our personal freedoms and find our shared humanity.
This inspiring collection of illustrated portraits celebrates the lives of influential transgender, non-binary and intersex figures throughout history.
Where I Can't Follow explores the forces that hold people in place, and how they adapt, survive, and struggle to love a place that doesn't always love them back.
Welcome to the skilled trade field. This book covers areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions: Electrician, HVAC Technician, Plumber, Construction Laborer, Craftsperson, and Automotive Service Technician/Mechanic.
The digital age we now live in is fundamentally changing how we relate to our perceptions and images. Daniel O'Shiel provides the first comprehensive phenomenology of virtual technology.
A chorus of extraordinary voices tells the epic story of the four-hundred-year journey of African Americans from 1619 to the present.
If you are interested in a career as an electrician, you've come to the right book.
A proposal that we think about digital technologies such as machine learning not in terms of artificial intelligence but as artificial communication.
Learn how to use key deep learning algorithms without the need for complex math.
Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this full-color manual delivers all the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test.
This book is for design engineers, mechanical engineers, architects, and anyone working in construction, manufacturing, or similar fields. Whether you're an absolute beginner, student, or professional looking to upgrade your engineering design skills, you'll find this AutoCAD book useful. No prior knowledge of CAD or AutoCAD is necessary.
A scholarly book to delve into the history behind Juneteenth.
Gender exists in almost every society as a way of organizing its people.
Merging classic rules of behavior with new realities of modern business, Excuse Me spotlights dozens of puzzling situations, with suggestions for bridging divides. The book untangles the nuances of: meeting etiquette, interview expectations, proper office attire, electronic manners, privacy in tight spaces, nonverbal cues, small talk, social media use, and much more.
Information on careers in the medical office professional field.
An optimistic realist's guide to how artificial intelligence can be used to augment and enhance humans' lives.
This source supplies a unifying framework for implementing and sustaining a Lean Higher Education (LHE) transformation at any institution, regardless of size or mission.
What single factor makes for an excellent college education? As it turns out, it's pretty simple: human relationships.
This book reminds us of the value of developing our concentration, so we can let go of misperceptions and cultivate the clarity of mind that is the basis for understanding ourselves, each other, and the world.
Leslie Josel opens the door to a student's view of procrastination, dives deep into what that really looks like, and offers up her Triple Ts--tips, tools and techniques--to teach students how to get stuff done...now.
If you have a great start-up idea and know how to think like an entrepreneur, but are still at college or university, then this book will show you how to run your business without having to drop out.
Learn Python fundamentals that can be used in any programming setting - use the guidance in this book to program your own game in a unique and practical Python learning experience.
Discusses the politics of gender and identity.
This book features the latest research in the area of immersive technologies.
The Vaccine Debate provides a straightforward introduction to the interaction between vaccines and the immune system. The book documents the rise of the anti-vaccination movement, provides reasons for its prominence today, and explains the effects of vaccine refusal on public health. It also addresses concerns about the role of government in regulating vaccine production and administration, along with questions about vaccine safety.
The Only Good Indians is a novel that is equal parts psychological horror and cutting social commentary on identity politics and the American Indian experience.
Warren Hammer’s Blueprint Reading Basics has been a bestselling classic for nearly two decades. In this historic revision, new author Charles Gillis has updated the entire package.
Become a process improvement star with Lean Six Sigma!
In Break the Caste, George Gerharz unmasks common American misperceptions of poverty, inequality, and social mobility.
A collection sharing stories of success, happiness, and inspiration from the LGBTQ+ community.
In 1925 Mary Breckinridge (1881-1965) founded the Frontier Nursing Service (FNS), a public health organization in eastern Kentucky providing nurses on horseback to reach families who otherwise would not receive health care.
Nashville legend Loretta Lynn tells the story of her rise from deep poverty in Butcher Holler, Kentucky, to the top of the male-dominated country music industry.
A tribute to Superman creators, Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster.
An invitation to a joyful and sustainable relationship with all aspects of eating.
Alexander Hamilton in his own words. Here is a short and accessible collection of the Founding Father's most essential writings that reflects his constitutional legacy.
This is a pragmatic book that presents some of the most important topics about the Python programming language in a concise form.
Like every young woman in New America, Stella knows the rules. But after her required chaperone dies, Stella questions both real freedom and the dark truths behind New America, and has no choice but to fight back against the world she knows, risking everything to set out on a dangerous journey across what used to be the United States.
The Cartoon Guide to Statistics covers all the central ideas of modern statistics: the summary and display of data, probability in gambling and medicine, random variables, Bernoulli Trails, the Central Limit Theorem, hypothesis testing, confidence interval estimation, and much more--all explained in simple, clear, and yes, funny illustrations.
An introduction to mindful walking, which can be done anywhere, at any time.
Artificial Intelligence is an exciting romp through the history of this groundbreaking field--a one-stop-shop for AI's past, present, and world-changing future.
The Cartoon History of the Modern World is a wickedly funny take on modern history: pt. 1 - Columbus to the U.S. Constitution and pt. 2 - Bastille to Baghdad.
A complete, and completely enjoyable, illustrated guide to calculus.
In the aftermath of a flood that washes away much of a small Tennessee town, evangelical preacher Asher Sharp offers shelter to two gay men. In doing so, starts to see his life anew and risks losing everything.
This title discusses the Pack Horse Library Project of Eastern Kentucky and is thoroughly researched and illustrated with period photographs.
An astonishing collection about interconnectedness-between the human and nonhuman, ancestors and ourselves-from National Book Critics Circle Award winner and National Book Award finalist Ada Limón
A short, accessible collection of key historic writings about presidential impeachment.
Lesbian. Gay. Bisexual. Transgender. Queer. Intersex. Straight. Curious. This book is for everyone, regardless of gender or sexual preference.
The Sweeping story of the enslavement of tens of thousands of Indians across America, from the time of the conquistadors up to the early twentieth century.
The Rescue Effect shows us the regenerative systems that help nature survive in the face of stressors like climate change, and how we can use this natural resiliency to help reverse it.
The author explores the power of the bittersweet personality, revealing a misunderstood side of mental health and creativity while offering a roadmap to facing grief in order to live life to the fullest.
Stop, relax mindfully, and recharge to control stress and renew mental freshness and clarity.
A retelling of Boone's saga through the eyes of his wife, Rebecca, and her two oldest daughters, Susannah and Jemima.
This practical resource offers a much-needed introduction to the why, what, and how of supporting college students through mindfulness and stress-releasing strategies.
A practical guide to building the connections students need to thrive in and after college.
Turn disagreements and conflicts into opportunities for growth, compassion, and reconciliation.
An authoritative and engaging guide to the fundamental questions about our existence.
The trailblazing Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg in her own words. Her most essential writings on gender equality and women's rights, reproductive health care, and voting and civil rights.
Take a closer look at impactful feminist icons through the art of cooking!
Part of the fascinating Big Ideas series, this book tackles tricky sociology topics and themes in a simple and easy to follow format.
An astonishing collection about interconnectedness--between the human and nonhuman, ancestors and ourselves from U.S. Poet Laureate Ada Limón.
In her most famous spoken-word poem, award -winning author and poet Elizabeth Acevedo celebrates the beauty and meaning of natural Black hair, her words vibrantly illustrated by artist Andrea Pippins. This powerful book embraces all the complexities of Afro-Latinidad-the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance.
Thirteen new stories of the Port William membership spanning the decades from World War II to the present moment.
This source supplies a unifying framework for implementing and sustaining a Lean Higher Education (LHE) transformation at any institution, regardless of size or mission.
This work features a curated series of historical, political, and legal classic writings by John Locke, James Madison, Roger Williams, and others, that address religious freedom, including the right to religious belief and expression, and a guarantee that the government neither prefers religion over non-religion nor favors particular faiths over others.
This fourth collection considers how we build our identities out of place and human contact--tracing in intimate detail the various ways the speaker's sense of self both shifts and perseveres as she moves from New York City to rural Kentucky, loses a dear parent, ages past the capriciousness of youth, and falls in love.
With colorful art, compelling discourse, and true stories from America's past and present, Fault Lines in the Constitution: The Graphic Novel sheds light on how today's political struggles have their origins in the decisions of our Founding Fathers.
The beauty and spirit of Maya Angelou's words live on in this complete collection of poetry.
The Aspects of Meditation series is comprised of brief texts in which Osho shows us the core of meditation is not about sitting silently or chanting a mantra. It is, instead, a question of understanding the subtle workings of the mind.
This collection of comforting and encouraging stories provides support in your time of need. Find inspiration in stories about coping with loss, regaining your strength, appreciating life, and finding new joy.
Historic Supreme Court cases that impact modern-day issues of American liberty, in a short, accessible volume as part of the new Penguin Liberty series.