Learning Commons Services and Resources

When Dr. Louis Creed moves to rural Ludlow, Maine, he uncovers eerie secrets near his new home—a pet cemetery with a darker burial ground beyond it. Despite warnings, Louis is drawn to its sinister allure, discovering a horrifying truth: sometimes, dead is better.

This book is comprised of a selection of 20-25 of Stephen King's most important articles, each one introduced by a known and respected practitioner who, in turn, describes the relevance of the particular original idea to the communications environment of today.

After 10 miserable years with his aunt and uncle, Harry Potter is invited to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Each book follows another year in Harry's education while more of his frightening destiny is revealed.

Now that you've read the book, see the movie! All of the films in the Harry Potter series are available to borrow from the SKYCTC Learning Commons.

Presents a brief biography of Rudyard Kipling, thematic and structural analysis of his works, critical views, and an index of themes and ideas.

First published in 1894, Rudyard Kipling's beloved short story collection has entertained both young and old readers with the story of the young boy Mowgli who's raised by wolves.

A computer hacker discovers that reality is nothing more than an elaborate facade called the Matrix, created by super-intelligent robots that have enslaved mankind and are using their bodies as a power source.

Baseball is indeed a mirror of American life, and Ward and Burns show how well America's story is told through baseball. Their book is the companion to a nine-part PBS television documentary. Each chapter, or "inning," proceeds chronologically with a dominant theme and dramatis personae. The profusion of striking illustrations interlaced with essays add an extra dimension to each chapter.

In November 1934 as the United States and Japan drifted toward war, a team of American League all-stars that included Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Jimmie Foxx, future secret agent Moe Berg, and Connie Mack barnstormed across the Land of the Rising Sun. A tale of international intrigue, espionage, attempted murder, and, of course, baseball, Banzai Babe Ruth is the first detailed account of the doomed attempt to reconcile the United States and Japan through the 1934 All American baseball tour.

The story of a Catholic war profiteer, Oskar Schindler, who risked his life and went bankrupt in order to save more than 1,000 Jews from certain death in concentration camps. He employed Jews in his crockery factory manufacturing goods for the German army. At the same time he tries to stay solvent with the help of a Jewish accountant and negotiates business with a vicious Nazi commandant who enjoys shooting Jews as target practice from the balcony of his villa that overlooks the prison camp he commands.

In this first full-scale, in-depth biography of Spielberg, Joseph McBride reveals hidden dimensions of the filmmaker's personality and shows how deeply personal even his most commercial work has been.

Isaacson has written a riveting story of the roller-coaster life and searingly intense personality of a creative entrepreneur whose passion for perfection and ferocious drive revolutionized six industries: personal computers, animated movies, music, phones, tablet computing, and digital publishing.

This is a stunning visual guide to the life and works of entrepreneur Steve Jobs. Easily one of the most influential innovators of the twenty-first century, Steve Jobs has fundamentally shaped the way in which we communicate and, even more broadly, live our lives.

From author Julie Hedgepeth Williams, winner of the 2021 Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History In 1910, Orville and Wilbur Wright opened the first US civilian flight school in Montgomery, Alabama. The Wright Brothers hoped to find a climate warmer and more hospitable to flying than their company base of snowy Dayton, Ohio, even as forward-thinking Montgomerians heralded the school as a way to rise above the shadow of the Civil War. Author Julie Hedgepeth Williams chronicles the short life of this flight school as seen mainly through the eyes of the Alabama press, whose reporting and sometimes misreporting "reflected the misconceptions, hopes, dreams, and fears about aviation in 1910, painting a picture of a time when flight was untested, unsteady, and unavailable to most people."

In this biography, authorized by Orville Wright and first published in 1943, Fred Kelly separates fact from legend and recreates the dramatic achievements of two men, self-taught inventors, who solved the "impossible" problem of flight.

Draws on a wealth of new information recently opened to the public to bring us a broader, more authentic portrait of Einstein than previously available. The first full-scale Einstein life published in 20 years, it is also the first to integrate Einstein's genius with his private and public life to give us a complete impression of the real person.

Contains roughly 1,600 quotations in all Includes new sections on children, race and prejudice, and Einstein's poetry Provides new commentary Beautifully illustrated The most comprehensive collection of Einstein quotes ever published

An autobiography written by a reflective, world-famous leader who was fired by a vision of equality for people everywhere.

Living the Dream tells the history behind the establishment of Martin Luther King Jr. Day and the battle over King's legacy that continued through the decades that followed.

The trailblazing Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg in her own words. Her most essential writings on gender equality and women's rights, reproductive health care, and voting and civil rights.

At the age of 85, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg has developed a breathtaking legal legacy while becoming an unexpected pop culture icon. But without a definitive Ginsburg biography, the unique personal journey of this diminutive, quiet warrior's rise to the nation's highest court has been largely unknown, even to some of her biggest fans - until now. RBG is a revelatory documentary exploring Ginsburg 's exceptional life and career from Betsy West and Julie Cohen.

The sweeping drama of three of Americas greatest five-star generals--Eisenhower, MacArthur, and Marshall--who led the U.S. to victory in World War II and who shaped the following decades with their larger-than-life legacies as rivals, peers, and friends.

From 1942-1945 the Allies' war in the Southwest Pacific was effectively a bilateral coalition between the United States and Australia under the command of General Douglas MacArthur. By charting the evolution of the military effectiveness of the US-Australian alliance, MacArthur's Coalition puts the relationship between the United States and Australia at the center of the war against Japan.

Political historian Scott Farris offers a comparative biography that explores Kennedy's and Reagan's contemporaneous lives from birth until 1960, showing how the experiences, attitudes, and skills developed by each man later impacted his presidency. Tackling key issues of each president's time in office -- civil rights, religion, nuclear brinkmanship, etc. -- he also considers how their dealings around each issue compare and contrast.

Perhaps no figure in recent memory more fully personifies leadership than President John F.Kennedy. Leading the nation in a time of unprecedented turbulence, challenge, and opportunity, Kennedy led his administration (and the country) with a courage and determination that even his harshest critics respected.

Acclaimed and enthralling portrait of America's greatest leader. Oates masterfully charts, with the pacing of a novel, Lincoln's rise from bitter poverty in America's midwestern frontier to become a self-made success in business, law, and regional politics. The second half of the book examines his legendary leadership on the national stage as president during one of the country's most tumultuous and bloody periods, the Civil War years, which concluded tragically with Lincoln's assassination.

In Founders' Son, celebrated historian Richard Brookhiser presents a compelling new biography of Abraham Lincoln that highlights his lifelong struggle to carry on the work of the Founding Fathers. Following Lincoln from his humble origins in Kentucky to his assassination in Washington, D.C., Brookhiser shows us every side of the man: laborer, lawyer, congressman, president; storyteller, wit, lover of ribald jokes; depressive, poet, friend, visionary.

Build relationships through effective communication, communicate in writing, over the phone, and in professional public speaking.

No matter how much you love your job, you will inevitably run into difficult situations on the job that test your ability to keep your cool. This handy reference of ready-to-use phrases will help you avoid disasters, steer clear of sticky circumstances with coworkers, and leave you in control.

Getting Organized at Work provides 24 proven tips, tools, and strategies that will help you analyze your use of time, root out inefficiencies, and change bad habits.

Eight important lessons focusing on 99 principles that will quickly and memorably enhance any individual's money management acumen.

Gives job seekers candid advice for answering even the most unexpected questions, arms, and offers advice on evaluating job offers, salary negotiations, and more.

Clean up your credit report, improve your credit score, lessen your debt, and cope with your financial difficulties. Includes information on budgeting your money, obtaining your credit report, fixing your credit, and preventing identity theft. It explains everything you need to know to legally repair your credit.

200 sample resumes and 12 cover letters representing the very best creations of professional resume writers targeted specifically to jobs that do not require a four-year college degree.

An authoritative and engaging guide to the fundamental questions about our existence.

What exactly is happiness? In the first comprehensive book to address this most basic of human desires, Nettle explores why we want to be happy, how we assess our levels of happiness, and the different ways that happiness is interpreted in different cultures.

Dina Gachman shares the lessons she's learned about how to live large in the cheap seats. Through stories both painfully honest and laugh-out-loud funny that anyone can relate to, Dina reveals all the tricks you need to live the good life without spending a ton of money.

The most popular drug in America is a white powder. No, not that powder. This is caffeine in its most essential state. And Caffeinated reveals the little-known truth about this addictive, largely unregulated drug found in coffee, energy drinks, teas, colas, chocolate, and even pain relievers.

A hilarious and informative handbook to the science of life. From the inner workings of the cell, to the magic of gene expression, to the Krebs and Calvin cycles, to sexual and asexual reproduction, The Cartoon Guide to Biology uses simple, clear, humorous illustrations to make biology's most complex concepts understandable and entertaining.

Using graphics and humor, Gonick covers all of the algebra essentials, including linear equations, polynomials, quadratic equations, and graphing techniques.

Focusing on non-traditional students in higher education institutions, this new book from renowned scholar John Levin examines the extent to which community college students receive justice both within their institution and as an outcome of their education.

Budget plans for every income level and stage of life.

Reveals how the traditional college culture can actually pose obstacles to students' success, and suggests strategies for effectively explaining academic expectations.

Ways to give answers that are clear, direct, and to the point.

Inside secrets for creating phenomenal cover letters that get noticed and land interviews. Step-by-step instructions throughout the book teach readers how to write, format, and distribute their cover letters for maximum impact.

7 Steps to Fearless Speaking will teach you how to cope with the panic, avoidance, and trauma of speaking as you give the gift of your conviction and experience your voice for the first time.

After more than fifteen years of teaching, Rebekah Nathan, a professor of anthropology at a large state university, enrolled as a freshman for the academic year. She immersed herself in student life, moving into the dorms and taking on a full course load. Being a student, she discovers, is hard work. But she also identifies fundamental misperceptions, misunderstandings, and mistakes on both sides of the educational divide that negatively affect the college experience.

Bolles demystifies the entire job-search process, from resumes to interviewing to networking, expertly guiding job-hunters toward their dream job.

With more than a million copies sold, Yoga Anatomy has become an invaluable resource for yoga practitioners, enthusiasts, and instructors around the world. Expanded and updated, the third edition of Yoga Anatomy will provide you with an even deeper understanding of yoga and of the structures and principles underlying each movement.

Insights learned from Maxwell's 30-plus years of leadership successes and mistakes with observations from the worlds of business, politics, sports, religion, and military conflict. One of the most trusted and referenced leadership books featuring revised content that is fundamental to any leader.

Twenty-five most important grammar mistakes and how to avoid them

Blending communicative and interactive approaches with tried-and-true grammar teaching, Basic English Grammar offers concise, accurate, level-appropriate grammar information with an abundance of exercises, contexts, and classroom activities.

Takes readers on a journey of self-discovery that will help them find work they love and develop their career from start to finish. Each chapter centers on an easy, fun, and revealing assessment that coaches job seekers through the successive steps in the career exploration and job search process.

Learn to understand and manage stress and anxiety, relaxation, effective communication, manage anger, resolve conflicts, healthy eating behaviors and physical activity, efficient time management, and implementing a stress reduction plan.

Practical guidance for faculty seeking to help their students work together in creative ways, move out of the box of traditional papers and projects, and deepen the learning experience through their work with one another.

Future-proof your career as you learn to provide value to employers, create a memorable career brand, quadruple your interview opportunities, tap into the most overlooked interview must, demonstrate your ability to do the job, and bottom-line the return-on-investment employers will receive for hiring you.

A practical guide to building the connections students need to thrive in and after college.

This practical guide to nonverbal communication helps the reader recognize the available choices for nonverbal behavior and potential consequences of those choices through examples and exercises. Effective nonverbal communication is an applied skill contributing to perceptions of credibility, trustworthiness, reliability, and professionalism.

A leading management consultant outlines seven organizational rules for improving effectiveness and increasing productivity at work and at home.

A classic developmental skills text for intermediate to advanced students of English, and a comprehensive reference grammar text, includes communicative and interactive language-learning activities.

Step-by-step guides to writing specific kinds of essays that have been a groundbreaking concept and changed the way writing is taught in American colleges. Source-based writing, analysis of argument, online teaching, and visual rhetoric are some of the focuses of this edition.

In this edition, students will learn from dozens of practical examples in a variety of media - including blogs, wikis, and podcasts - which show both effective and ineffective communication efforts. A chapter has been added on crafting messages for electronic media.

This ultimate "insider's guide" to college life helps entering freshmen navigate the challenging transition to college life.