Celebrate Women’s History Month by learning about how women have shaped American history. Visit our Women in America Research Guide to browse primary source documents, print and electronic books, scholarly e-journal articles, and streaming video documentaries from women’s history. If you need any assistance finding something of interest, reach out to a librarian by visiting our Ask! page!
Featured
02/03/2025
Our skilled Librarians & Tutors can help with common academic hurdles, such as research needs, calculator usage, homework equations, basic computer skills, the outlining of essays, and supplemental APA, MLA, and Chicago citation style guidance.
Visit our online Ask! page or stop by the Learning Commons in Building L, Room 119, to schedule an in-person or a virtual appointment.
No Subjects
02/06/2025
📚 Not sure how to start a paper?
➗ Math stressing you out?
💻 Need help downloading Microsoft 365?
The Learning Commons is here to help with all your academic challenges! Our expert tutors are ready to support you in:
✅ Math & Science – College Algebra, Trigonometry, Calculus I & II, Statistics, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, Intro to Biology, and Pharmacology
✅ Technology & Writing – Computer Information Technology, writing papers, speeches, reports, résumés, and more
✅ Social Sciences – Psychology & Sociology
💡 How to Get Tutoring Support:
📅 Schedule a Session: Visit our Ask! page to book an appointment.
📞 Call Us: 270-901-1171 to set up a session.
🚶 Walk-In Help: Stop by and check our Walk-in Whiteboard for tutor availability.
Don't let coursework hold you back—get the help you need today! 🎓✨
No Subjects
03/28/2025
April is National Poetry Month and SKYCTC Learning Commons wants to help you enjoy poetry!
See selected poems chosen by our librarians and tutors on our Staff Picks page! We have also included some library resources and websites to help you find poems you will love as well!
Check out the Poetry Foundation’s recommendations for poetry podcasts!
Select a poem to read here from the Academy of American Poets!
Read a poem written by Silas House, KY Poet Laureate here!
Have fun creating your own poem with magnetic poetry in the SKYCTC Learning Commons or online here!
If you have questions or would like to schedule an appointment with a Librarian or Tutor, please use our online Ask! Page.
03/21/2025
Check out the Learning Commons' Partner Libraries: WKU Libraries and the Warren County Public Library! Our partner libraries help SKYCTC students with the following:
Night and weekend availability to study spaces, computers, wi-fi, and printing.
Access to additional library resources:
WKU Libraries’ resources, including print books, print journal articles, DVDs, & other library items, can be delivered to you at SKYCTC through the WKU Courier Service.
Warren County Public Library resources, including books, eBooks, audiobooks, music, movies & tv, magazines, & more, are available for checkout, download, or streaming – even if you do not live in Warren County! Fill out this form if you need a Warren County Public Library card.
If you have questions, you can always visit our Ask! page!
03/19/2025
Struggling with math? Need homework support? Or just want to build confidence in your skills? The Math Open Lab is here for you—every Wednesday from 12:30pm to 2:30pm in Building L-113B (Learning Commons).
Courses Covered:
📘 MAT 61
📘 MAT 110/116/126
📘 MAT 146
📘 MAT 100/150
📘 MAT 150
📘 STA 220
What You’ll Get:
✔ One-on-one tutoring
✔ Help with tricky math problems
✔ A supportive learning environment
📍 Location: Learning Commons, Building L-113B (next to the social staircases)
Whether you're starting a new bi-term math class or just need extra support, we're here to help! Don’t miss this opportunity to sharpen your math skills and tackle any homework challenges.
Join us every Wednesday – See you there!
No Subjects
03/13/2025
What’s better than ice cream? An ice cream sundae—and a chance to learn about the awesome tutoring and library services available to you! Join us for a sweet study break where you can build your own sundae while discovering how the Learning Commons can support your success.
📅 Date: April 1st
⏰ Time: 12 PM – 1 PM
📍 Location: Outside (weather permitting) or in the lobby
Come for the toppings, stay for the tips! Whether you need tutoring, research help, or just a fun treat, we’ve got you covered. Don’t miss out! 🍦✨
No Subjects
03/07/2025
We hope you enjoy your spring break and take some time to check out documentaries to celebrate Women’s History Month! Some critically acclaimed documentaries in our Academic Video Online (AVON) collection include:
With Academic Video Online (AVON), you can access 90,000+ titles that span a wide range of other subject areas. Share full videos or clips for class or with other SKYCTC employees or students. Here are a few video collections that may be of high interest:
If you need help finding a video for class or personal interest, don’t hesitate to ask a librarian or tutor through our Ask! page!
03/06/2025
Spring Break is just around the corner, and while classes may be on pause, the Learning Commons is still here to support you! Whether you need a quiet place to study, catch up on assignments, or get ahead on your coursework, we’ve got you covered.
🗓 Spring Break Hours:
📍 Monday – Friday: 7:30 AM – 4:00 PM
Take advantage of this time to refresh, recharge, and stay productive! Our tutors and resources will be available during these adjusted hours, so stop by if you need any assistance or visit our Ask! page to schedule an appointment.
Enjoy your break, and we’ll see you soon! 🌿✨
No Subjects
02/21/2025
Did you know the SKYCTC Learning Commons has over 5,000 print books and 1,000 DVDs in our collection for students to check out? Check out our physical collection in Building L, Room 113, including our staff picks for Black History Month on display! We will also be showcasing our display in the Social Staircase lobby in Building L on Wednesday, February 26th between 10 AM – 1 PM to celebrate Black History Month. Swing by and check out a book!
Do you need to find books or other library resources for school? Use our Library Search tool to find books, articles, and videos in our library collection and databases. Library Search works best when you want to find a lot of different types of information on a topic or when you are starting your research. You can watch our video tutorial on Library Search and if you need assistance, visit our Ask! Page to request assistance from a librarian!
Midterms can be overwhelming, but don’t worry—you’re not alone! The Learning Commons is here to help de-stress, recharge, and stay focused with our Study Break Event from Monday, March 3rd – Friday, March 7th.
We know that cramming for exams can take a toll on your mind and body. That’s why we’re offering a week full of relaxing activities, including snacks, music, puzzles, tutoring, and more! Here’s what you can look forward to:
✨ What’s Happening?
🍎 Free Snacks! (Grab them while they last!)
🎶 Sound Experience with Crystal Bowls & Mbira – Take a musical pause to relax your mind.
📅 Tuesday, March 4th ⏰ 12:15 – 12:45 PM
📍 Social Staircase, Building L
➗ Walk-in Math Tutoring ✏️ – Need help crunching numbers? Stop by for extra support!
📅 Wednesday, March 5th ⏰ 12:30 – 2:30 PM
📚 One-on-One Tutoring – Stuck on a subject? We’ve got you covered! Book a session for help with:
🔢 Math, Accounting & Statistics
💻 Computer Information Technology
📖 Research Assistance
📝 Microsoft Word & PowerPoint
✍️ Writing
🧬 BIO 112
🚀 FYE
⚛️ Physics & Chemistry
🖊️ Walk-in Whiteboard – Check out our daily pop-up tutoring sessions!
🎨 Coloring Sheets & Supplies – Because sometimes, you just need to color it out!
🧩 Group Puzzle in the Learning Commons Library (Room 113) – Work together, piece by piece!
🍬 Peppermints to Help You Focus – A little brain boost to keep you going!
More Ways to Relax & Recharge
Feeling overwhelmed? Our Wellness Guide has even more resources to help you stay balanced while prepping for midterms. Plus, if you need a quiet space to study or just unwind, don’t forget you can reserve a study room in the Learning Commons.
💡 Got questions? Visit our Ask! page to schedule an appointment with a tutor or librarian.
🎯 Midterms can be tough, but you’re tougher. Take care of yourself, and good luck! 💪📖
No Subjects
02/14/2025
Celebrate Black History Month with newspapers from the Black Life in America from NewsBank collection. People of African descent have had a profound impact on American history and this collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American History, culture, and daily life – as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Content ranges from the early 18th century to contemporary times in the 21st century.
Click here to watch a short video on how to use this database.
If you need help finding an article for class or personal interest, don’t hesitate to ask a librarian through our Ask! page!
No Subjects
02/14/2025
Featured
Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.
Explore Black History with Academic Video Online (AVON) from the SKYCTC Learning Commons! Check out some of these documentaries, docuseries, and other video resources throughout Black History Month:
With Academic Video Online (AVON), you can access 90,000+ titles that span a wide range of other subject areas. Share full videos or clips for class or with other SKYCTC employees or students. Here are a few video collections that may be of high interest:
If you need help finding a video for class or personal interest, don’t hesitate to ask a librarian or tutor through our Ask! page!