Research Guides: English: Getting Started

Guides and Tools for Research

Project Research Guide
A planning tool you can use to think through your research projects for any class.

Works Cited Template
Use this to get started on a Works Cited page. It's already formatted with 1 inch margins, 12 point font, Times New Roman, and the hanging indent for your citations.

MLA Style Center
Provides additional MLA examples and frequently asked questions from the official website.
Citation Builder from NoodleTools Express
Generate quick citations and copy and paste into a document. Check results against the appropriate guide or manual.

Study Aids on Reserve in L113

The College Writer: a Guide to Thinking, Writing, and Researching (w/ MLA9E Update) by John Van Rys; Verne Meyer; Randall VanderMey; Patrick Sebranek
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC ENG 101-Smith
ISBN: 9780357505847
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
This fully updated four-in-one resource provides a rhetoric, reader, research guide, and complete handbook for writers of any skill level. Updated professional and student writing samples highlight important features of academic writing -- from organization to documentation -- while modeling strategies and timely topics to use in your own papers.
The Norton Introduction to Literature with 2016 MLA Update by Kelly J. Mays (Editor)
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC ENG 101-Smith
ISBN: 9780393623567
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
The Norton Introduction to Literature presents an engaging, balanced selection of literature to suit any course.
The Norton Introduction to Literature by Kelly J. Mays
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC ENG 101-Smith
ISBN: 9780393938937
Publication Date: 2016-10-03
The Norton Introduction to Literature, Portable Edition, offers an affordable and diverse selection of classic and contemporary literature, the most carefully edited apparatus for analyzing texts and writing thoughtfully, and a wider, more accessible array of student and instructor media.
The Little Seagull Handbook, 4th ed. 2021 MLA Update by Richard Bullock; Michal Brody; Francine Weinberg
Call Number: On Reserve, SKYCTC ENG 101-Smith, PE1408 .B8838 2022
ISBN: 9780393888959
Publication Date: 2022-04-01
Easy to use and easy to afford, The Little Seagull Handbook is the #1 brief handbook because students say it has a positive impact on their writing. The Little Seagull Handbook, MLA Update Edition features the latest documentation guidelines from the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook (2021).

Need Help with Research?

Check out these tutorials and guides to assist you with the research process. If you need additional assistance, please contact the help desk at 270-901-1171.

Using Library Databases
Provides information about generating search terms, choosing databases, and more.
How To Research Using EbscoHost Databases
Tutorials include an Introduction to EbscoHost, Basic Searching in EbscoHost, How to Navigate the EbscoHost Search Results List, & Reading an Article in EbscoHost.
Popular and Scholarly Sources
Tutorial about the difference between scholarly and popular sources.

Ask Us - We Can Help!

Esther French

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119E

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for almost ten thousand journals, most of which are peer-reviewed titles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text academic articles in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

eBooks from the University Press of Kentucky This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
KYVL has partnered with the University Press of Kentucky to make more than 1,300 titles in the collection freely available to KYVL members. This collection includes topics ranging from architecture to business, education to law, Arts & Humanities and studies in Romance languages to social & behavioral sciences and STEM fields.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes 56,000+ ebooks from leading publishers including unique titles from Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Featuring continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

How to Use Opposing Viewpoints
Use this link for a quick overview of the Opposing Viewpoints database from Gale.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database. With hundreds of digital reference titles from over 100 publishers, this database offers a user-friendly interface to access curated, authoritative reference sources, providing users with a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Credo helps users gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and even connect to e-journals in the library databases to access more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes access to 78 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader. The Suggested Topics feature on the homepage can help select topics for essays, speeches and current events research. Coverage from 1980 to current.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Kentucky Newspaper Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to 78 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader. The Suggested Topics feature on the homepage can help select topics for essays, speeches and current events research. Coverage from 1989 to the present.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic Video Online (AVON) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 62,000 titles on a range of subject areas from anthropology to business, counseling to health, and more. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations.

The library has more databases that relate to specific subject areas, such as health, sociology, art, or technology.

A-Z Database Guide
Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
What is a library database?
Learn more about library databases at SKYCTC.

I'm beginning my research.

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Use the WKU Courier or SKYCTC Courier Service

Need to borrow a book from another library or have a book delivered to another campus?

Use the courier service links below.

Fill out a WKU Courier Service request
We will deliver books, DVDs, videos, and audiobooks from WKU Libraries to Main Campus, Transpark, Glasgow Health, Glasgow Tech, & Franklin campuses for you to pick up!

Off Campus?

Use your KCTCS email ID and password to access databases off campus.

If you are unable to login, try using Kentucky Virtual Library.

Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) Databases
Many of our databases are accessible using KYVL. SKYCTC students and employees can request the username and password for KYVL databases, which is different than your KCTCS login. To request the KYVL username and password, use the following link: https://password.kyvl.org/PasswordRequest.aspx, or contact the SKYCTC Help Desk (270-901-1171).

Still having trouble?

Off Campus Access Guide
Use your SKYCTC username and password to access most library databases off campus. Visit our Off Campus Access guide for more help or call the Library Help Desk at (270) 901-1171.

English: Getting Started

Welcome!