Skip to Main Content
SKYCTC Learning Commons

English: ENG101 Basic Skills

Resources for English coursework. This guide is best viewed using Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

What will I learn in this tutorial?

  • Locate and use background information.
  • Identify keywords and search terms.
  • Identify the characteristics of resources.
  • Search a library database.
  • Print, email, and cite resources from a database.
  • Evaluate resources.
  • Cite sources.

Writing Tutor

Profile Photo
Taylor Pryor
Contact:
Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119B
270-901-1171
Website

Librarian & Associate Professor

Profile Photo
Esther French
Contact:
Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119E
270-901-1171
Website

Use C.O.A.R. to evaluate websites, books, and articles.

How to Use the ENG101 Library Tutorial

Work through the boxes in order. Read the instructions, watch the short videos, and do the activities. Try the Self-Check at the end. For help with this tutorial, submit a question under the Ask a Librarian or Tutor button in your blue navigation bar at the top of this guide.

1. Read about background information for topics. Watch the video for an introduction to Britannica, a database for background information.

Why is background information important? 

  • Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
  • Give you basic information about a topic, such as definitions and summaries.
  • Helps you broaden or narrow your search. 

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are sources of background information. 

2. Watch this short video about library databases.

This video explains library databases and the free Web vs. databases. 

3. Watch this video about keyword searching. Take a look at the examples.

Keywords sum up the main idea of a topic. Thinking about the keywords for a topic before beginning your search will help you find better resources.

Here is an example: 

Write a paper about taking classes online vs. face-to-face. 

What are the main idea words?

online, classes, face-to-face

What are some other words that are similar to the main idea words?

Web, Internet, traditional, course, in-person

What are other words related to the topic?

Blackboard, hybrid, ENC90/91

Now you have some keywords to use when you search in library databases or do Web searches.

4. Watch the video and explore the Academic Search Complete Database from EBSCOhost

5. Watch a short video about citing, and answer the poll questions to check yourself.

What is one purpose of citing?
Confusing writers and readers.: 1 votes (0.62%)
Helping readers find the sources used.: 149 votes (92.55%)
Plagiarizing an essay.: 5 votes (3.11%)
Copying information from an article.: 6 votes (3.73%)
Total Votes: 161
Which one of these statements is true?
If you buy an article, you don't have to cite it.: 3 votes (2.04%)
All citations styles are the same.: 2 votes (1.36%)
You don't have to cite pictures.: 2 votes (1.36%)
You always need to cite your sources.: 140 votes (95.24%)
Total Votes: 147

6. Watch this video about how to use NoodleBib Express to cite sources.

NoodleBib Express is a free online tool that helps you build a citation step-by-step. It gives you hints about what to enter. You can copy and paste the citation into your bibliography. You will always want to double check the citations you create. Check out the APA and MLA tabs at the top of this guide for more information.

7. Practice evaluating and citing web documents and articles from databases.

Consider these four criteria to evaluate the resources you use for your research:

C: Currency - When was the information posted?

O: Objectivity - Does the site present both sides of an issue?

A: Authority - Who sponsors the site?

R: Reliability - Does the site function, and is it well-organized?

Click on the links for example searches. Practice evaluating and citing one web document and one article from a library database. Use your SKYCTC username and password to access the articles off campus.

8. Check yourself with a few quick questions.

Click on the form link below and login to Office365 with your SKYCTC information to take the Self-Check.

10. Need some help? Click on the links below.