Research Guides: Hospitality: Resources

Career Tools

Login with your campus username and password and create your own account. Check out the occupational practice exams, resume builder, and other tools.

Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve workplace skills.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Professional Organizations

Bowling Green Area Convention and Visitors Bureau
Promoting and developing our region as a welcoming destination for visitors
American Hotel and Lodging Association
Explore current industry trends and issues
Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI)
Provides hotel professionals & their partners with tools, insights, and expertise to fuel sales, inspire marketing, and optimize revenue.

Resources on the Web

Cvent Event Diagramming (formerly Social Tables)
Resources for event planners on a collaborative event design platform that empowers planners and venues to come together and bring their events to life.
Hospitality Net
Delivers industry technology B2B-driven opinion-based articles
Travel Tourism and Research from Department of Commerce
Collects, analyzes, and disseminates international travel and tourism statistics
more...less...
View country market profiles and other tourism data collected by the International Trade Administration.
Green Hospitality from Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
Where owners, restaurant managers and hospitality professionals can learn ways to green their processes, measure those results and communicate the impacts to a public who is increasingly making more sustainable choices when purchasing goods and services.
Economic Impact of Visitors in Kentucky
Kentucky Department of Tourism report
NAICS Codes: Look up an industry code
U.S. Census Bureau tool and PDF manual for latest industry codes
Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Action: Use Cases & Impacts of AI in Society, Business and Travel & Tourism
World Travel and Tourism Council's report on Artificial Intelligence (AI) on the impact of AI on your business operations and the tremendous potential of AI technology to create more sustainable, personalized, and meaningful travel experiences.

Resources in Library Databases

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 2,300 journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. See MarketLine Company Profiles for company research papers.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Small Business Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
Kentucky Newspaper Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to 78 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader. The Suggested Topics feature on the homepage can help select topics for essays, speeches and current events research. Coverage from 1989 to the present.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection is useful for business startups, marketing, policy development, trend analysis, economic modeling, investing, rate research, and other topics in economics or business classes using its full-text journals to support their research.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.

Featured Library Ebooks (Use SKYCTC login to access.)

Customer Service for Hospitality and Tourism by Hudson; Hudson
Call Number: Use SKYCTC login to access
ISBN: 9781915097156
Publication Date: 2022
The 'whys' and 'hows' of customer service. Current statistics, trends, and examples.
Food and Beverage Management in the Luxury Hotel Industry by Boussard
Call Number: Use SKYCTC login to access
ISBN: 9781637420102
Publication Date: 2021
Introduction to the management of food & beverage operations within luxury hotel environment. Provides detailed coverage of operational areas based on multiple real industry examples.
Digital Marketing and Social Media Strategies for Tourism and Hospitality Organizations by Ozturk; Hancer
Call Number: Use SKYCTC login to access
ISBN: 9781911635482
Publication Date: 2022
Explores the most effective digital marketing strategies and campaigns
Social Media Is about People by Bailey; Schmidt
Call Number: Use SKYCTC login to access
ISBN: 9781637422625
Publication Date: 2022
How to best communicate with others using the social media platforms. While each and every social network changes constantly, this underlying approach never will. By ensuring that people are first in all social media strategies, marketers will deliver more value.
So, You Bought a Franchise. Now What? by Roemer
Call Number: Use SKYCTC login to access
ISBN: 9781637422717
Publication Date: 2022
Includes stories and advice from franchisees and operators who have built successful franchise businesses as well as business experts.
How to Recruit, Hire and Retain Great People by Johnson
Call Number: Access with SKYCTC login
ISBN: 9781722501778
Publication Date: 2022
The three-month call script and how you can use it to source great people. How to use the 5 Step Bridge to find out each candidate's needs and goals. The 11 key questions and how to weight them to objectively select the right person for the right job. The 4 Step Training Approach that will help each candidate produce faster results. How the Let's Assume Technique will help you retain great people longer!

Featured Resources

Nation's Restaurant News
Emphasizes timely news & in-depth analysis that shape the foodservice marketplace & pinpoint emerging trends.
Journal of Service Research
Focuses on management issues in the area of hospitality, finance, IT, education, healthcare and infrastructure, among others.
Hotel Management
Articles, interviews, business profiles, design and architecture, independents, legislation, special reports and timely news of note for the international hospitality industry.
Journal of Tourism Futures
Peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes research in the fields of tourism and tourism futures
Hospitality Design
Serves owners, operators, brands, purchasing agents, interior designers, and architects involved in the design of hotels, resorts, restaurants, nightlife, spas, and all other hospitality-oriented projects
Service Industry Journal
Peer reviewed journal devoted to the services sector and service management
Journal of Marketing Research
Articles cover concepts, methods, & applications of marketing research, as well as reviews and comments relating to the research industry and its practices.

Librarian / Associate Professor

Esther French

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119E

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services