Research Guides: Culinary Arts: Library Resources

Career Tools

Login with your campus username and password and create your own account. Check out the occupational practice exams, resume builder, and other tools.

Career Preparation
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve workplace skills.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video

American Culinary Federation
Trends, recipes, videos, and other resources from the accreditation body for the SKYCTC program.
FoodSafety.gov
Get the latest news, alerts, and tips on safely handling and storing food to prevent food poisoning.
ServSafe
ServSafe offers food and alcohol safety training and certification exams as well as other resources created by foodservice professionals in the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation.
National Restaurant Association Resource Center
Put best practices for your business into action. Critical content resources for business operations, workforce engagement and food and nutrition.
Center for the Advancement of Food Service Education (CAFE)
Cafe Talks Podcasts and News from the field.
Culinary Arts Program at SKYCTC
Provides information about the SKYCTC Culinary Arts program.
Learn about the field of culinary services
Personal and culinary services data from the Bureau of Labor and Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook

Cooking Matters
Initiative of the AmeriCorps assisting U.S. families on tight budgets to prepare and enjoy healthy, affordable meals.
Spice Encyclopedia
Online guide to using spices with background information on each spice and quick reference charts.
Star Chefs
Recipes and industry news from Star Chefs
Epicurious
Daily kitchen tips, cooking videos, and over 33,000 recipes.

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119E

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus.

Business Source Premier
Full text for more than 2,300 journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. See MarketLine Company Profiles for company research papers.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video
Entrepreneurship
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines covering Information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video
Academic Video Online
Find video sources on culinary arts and cooking related topics.
Career and Technical Education: All Subjects
Use this link to search multiple journals including: Baking Management, Food Business Week, Food Logistics, Food Management, Nutrition and Food Science.

Food Safety Short Stories by Overbosch, Motarjemi, Lelieveld
Call Number: Access with SKYCTC login
ISBN: 9781804410974
Publication Date: 2023
Case stories focus on an important event, mishap, management practice, or ethical question, and present important lessons to the reader. Their objective is to educate, inspire, motivate, challenge, and encourage food professionals to better understand food safety management and to help increase job effectiveness and productivity with ethics and integrity.
Managing Health and Safety in a Small Business by Jeynes
Call Number: Access with SKYCTC login
ISBN: 9781637421956
Publication Date: 2022
How to identify and manage health and safety risks in a small business with additional checklists and suggestions

Culinary Arts by Tracy Brown Hamilton
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks; TX911.3.V62 B76 2019
ISBN: 9781538111734
Publication Date: 2019-07-12
This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers five main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions.
Just a Few Miles South by Ouita Michel; Sara Gibbs (Editor); Genie Graf (Editor); Brenna Flannery (Illustrator); Silas House (Foreword by)
Call Number: Southcentral Ky Main - Book Stacks TX715.2.S68 M5 2021
ISBN: 9781950564095
Publication Date: 2021-04-27
The Cambridge World History of Food by Kenneth F. Kiple; Kriemhild Coneè Ornelas
Call Number: TX353 .C255 2000 REFERENCE
ISBN: 0521402166
Publication Date: 2000