See the big picture:
An encyclopedia or other reference source can be a good starting point for learning major concepts on a broad topic.
Inform your audience:
If you need an introduction to your topic, chances are good that your audience or reader does as well. Using background information in the opening paragraph of a paper or at the beginning of a speech can set the stage for more detailed information to come.
Get the facts:
Important names, dates, places etc… are often mentioned in background sources.
Learn the lingo:
Look for key terms, terminology, and definitions. Keep these terms in mind when you begin searching for your topic in an online database or on the web.
Check out the author:
Background sources are often written by experts; you may want to look for other works by the same author for your topic.
Locate additional sources:
Many sources will include a list of additional readings or a bibliography. These may lead you to additional sources for your research.
Subject specific tips for locating background information can be found on each subject specific research guide under the "Background Info" tab.
Why is background information important?
Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.
