Research Guides: Air Conditioning : Resources

Career Preparation Tools in Learning Express Library

Login with your campus username and password and create your own account. Check out the occupational practice exams, resume builder, and other tools.

Career Preparation
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve workplace skills.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Getting great scores on ACT’s WorkKeys^® assessments can help you earn a National Career Readiness Certificate^™ and boost your career. Use the following study plan to help you prepare for these important tests. All study materials are available through Learning Express Library:

Take WorkKeys^® Applied Math Practice Test 1. The score report displays the specific math skills assessed by the test, as well as your performance in each of those skills. Determine where you need improvement, then target those skills with the additional resources recommended in your score report.
Next, take WorkKeys^® Graphic Literacy Test 1. Again, review your score report and answer explanations to determine the areas where you need additional practice. Download Visual Communication to work on your skills reading maps, tables, graphs, charts, diagrams, schematics, blueprints, whiteprints, and more.
Take WorkKeys^® Workplace Documents Practice Test 1. Review your score report and answer explanations to determine the areas where you need improvement.
Work your way through WorkKeys^® Applied Math Practice Test 2, WorkKeys^® Graphic Literacy Test 2, and WorkKeys^® Workplace Documents Practice Test 2. Note your progress and keep strengthening any remaining weakness until your official test day.

Professional Resources on the Web

National Electrical Code Access for Free from the NFPA
Create an account and sign in to get free online access to all NFPA standards, including the NEC.
Air Conditioning Technology
Provides information about the SKYCTC Air Conditioning Technology program.
HVAC Excellence
Accrediting body for the SKYCTC Air Conditioning program. Also includes news and training opportunities.
Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings, and Construction
HBC enforces statewide standards for building construction. The agency ensures fire and life safety in existing buildings; licenses/certifies plumbers, electricians, boiler contractors, sprinkler and/or fire alarm contractors and building inspectors.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Stationary Refrigeration and Air Conditioning
Resources for Section 608. Section 608 (40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F) of the Clean Air Act establishes the National Recycling and Emission Reduction Program. It prohibits individuals from intentionally venting ozone-depleting substances (ODS) refrigerants and their substitutes, such as hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) while maintaining, servicing, repairing, or disposing of air conditioning or refrigeration equipment.
Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA)
ACCA is a non-profit association whose membership includes more than 60,000 professionals from businesses in the indoor environment and energy services community. They promote professional contracting, energy efficiency, and healthy, comfortable indoor environments.
Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI)
The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) is the trade association representing manufacturers of HVACR and water heating equipment within the global industry.
American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
Originally founded in 1894, ASHRAE is a global society that focuses on building systems, energy efficiency, indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability within the industry.

Simulators and Calculators

Service Titan Flow Rate Calculator
To calculate flow rate, contractors must understand complicated math formulas. This flow rate calculator makes determining volumetric flow rate easy.
Service Titan HVAC Duct Calculator
Calculate Proper HVAC Ductwork Sizing
Service Titan HVAC Load Calculator
Determine the load based on square footage, climate, and construction.
Service Titan Pipe Volume Calculator
Plumbers and other contractors need the right tools to solve complex math equations in the field, such as calculating the volume of a pipe to determine how much water it can handle. ServiceTitan’s pipe volume calculator makes a pipe calculation simple and easy. Measure the volume of pipes based on inner diameter and length. You can also use this calculator to tally how much the volume of water in pipes weighs.
Service Titan Toolbox
A place for contractors to access articles, webinars, podcasts, industry-leading voices and expert advice.

Librarian / Associate Professor

Esther French

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119E

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services

e-Book Resources

2021 International Building Code® Illustrated Handbook by International Code Council; Douglas W. Thornburg; Chris Kimball
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)

ISBN: 9781264270118

Publication Date: 2021-10-08

The most comprehensive visual guide to the International Building Code--fully updated for 2021 provisions.
Ultimate Guide: Plumbing, Updated 5th Edition by Editors of Creative Homeowner
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)

ISBN: 9781580118613

Publication Date: 2021-05-25

Newly updated edition features new code-compliant techniques for 2021, plus a new section on air gap fittings.
Hammer’s Blueprint Reading Basics by Charles Gillis and Warren Hammer
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9780831194314

Publication Date: 12/18/2017

Warren Hammer’s Blueprint Reading Basics has been a bestselling classic for nearly two decades. In this historic revision, new author Charles Gillis has updated the entire package, replacing ALL figures with CAD-generated artwork, adding new illustrations, representing metric drawing practices alongside English, and including content from drawing standards such as Dimensioning and Tolerancing, Engineering Drawing Practices, Welding Symbols, Orthographic and Pictorial Views, Surface Texture, Undimensioned Drawings, and Types and Applications of Engineering Drawings, among others.

HVAC Articles and Trade Journals in Library Databases

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus. Some databases may only be available from a SKYCTC campus computer.

Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration News
A weekly magazine for HVACR contractors. Includes news; articles on current processes and equipment; and columns and special features discussing industry trends, business conditions, and marketing practices.
Consulting-Specifying Engineer
Articles cover news, information and product updates on fire, life-safety and security systems including smoke control, fire alarm systems, smoke detector and commercial security systems.
Engineered Systems
Provides information to assist people who specify, install, buy, and maintain commercial, industrial, and institutional hvac/r systems. Contains feature article, issues and events, and literature and product profiles.

more... less...

Subscribe for free at https://www.sub-forms.com/dragon/init.do?site=BNP6059_Jknew&pk=W.HOME
Plumbing and Mechanical
A trade journal for plumbing, hydronics, piping, and mechanical contractors. Covers industry news and developments in products and technologies. Features include troubleshooting tips, business management strategies, and a hydronics forum.

more... less...

Subscribe for free at https://www.sub-forms.com/dragon/init.do?site=BNP6052_VCnew&&PK=W.HOME

More Resources in Library Databases

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus. Some databases may only be available from a SKYCTC campus computer.

Home Improvement

Places the research of hobbyists and professionals on a solid foundation, with articles from more than 200 home improvement–focused titles. Covers topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Vocations and Careers

Aids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. This database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals ranging from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic OneFile

Full-text, scholarly articles in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts & humanities, and more. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times, 1995-present.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Career and Technical Education: All Subjects
More than 500 full text titles on vocational and technical topics, including: computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Off Campus Access Guide
Use your SKYCTC username and password to access most library databases off campus. Visit our Off Campus Access guide for more help or call the Library Help Desk at (270) 901-1171.
A-Z Database List for SKYCTC
Access the full List of SKYCTC databases.

Resources on the Shelf in the Learning Commons RM L113

Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology by Bill Whitman; Bill Johnson; John Tomczyk; Eugene Silberstein
Call Number: TP492 .T66 2017

ISBN: 9781305578296

Publication Date: 2016-01-01

This practical, easy-to-understand book provides hands-on guidance, practical applications, and the solid foundation you need to fully understand today's HVAC service and repair, its environmental challenges, and their solutions.
Lab Manual for Tomczyk/Silberstein/ Whitman/Johnson's Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology, 8th by John Tomczyk; Eugene Silberstein; Bill Whitman; Bill Johnson
Call Number: TP492 .W62 2017

ISBN: 9781305578708

Publication Date: 2016-02-26

The manual includes a variety of resources, such as lab activities, objectives, materials lists, step-by-step procedures, illustrations, and review questions.
Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology by Bill Whitman; Bill Johnson; John Tomczyk; Eugene Silberstein
Call Number: TP492 .W6 2013

ISBN: 9781111644475

Publication Date: 2012-02-24

Focused on sustainable technology with an emphasis on Green Awareness, LEED accreditation and building performances with two new chapters on Energy Audits and Heat Gains and Losses, and soft skills and customer relation issues that impact customer satisfaction and employment success
Blueprints and Plans for HVAC by Joseph Moravek; Frank Miller; Curtis R. McGuirt; Wilma B. Miller
Call Number: TH7345 .M67 2013

ISBN: 9781285162539

Publication Date: 2012-07-10

Packed with vivid illustrations and a complete set of commercial prints, this book combines in-depth instruction with relevant hands-on applications to equip you with the skills needed to succeed in the workplace.
National Fuel Gas Code 2009 Edition by National Fire Protection Association; American Gas Association
Call Number: TP758 .N3841 2009

ISBN: 9781616652005

Publication Date: 2009

Offers criteria for the installation and operation of gas piping and gas equipment on consumers' premises with the intent to promote public safety by providing requirements for the safe and satisfactory utilization of gas. NFPA 54 and ANSI Z223.1 Standards.
Practical Problems in Mathematics for Heating and Cooling Technicians by Russell B. DeVore
Call Number: TH7226 .D48 2013

ISBN: 9781111541354

Publication Date: 2012-02-15

Condenses critical mathematical theories into short, easily understood sections, and illustrates every concept with multiple examples and practice problems drawn from tasks technicians perform on the job every day.
2015 International Mechanical Code by International Code Council
Call Number: KF5708 .I56 2015

ISBN: 9781609834791

Publication Date: 2014-06-05

For the most current mechanical codes that address the design and installation of the most current mechanical systems.

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.