Research Guides: Wellness: Wellness

How to Use This Guide

1. Begin on this page and watch the short video about the eight dimensions of wellness. 2. Then read the articles from reliable websites and from library databases to learn about the importance of wellness. You may be asked to login with your campus username and password if you are working from home. 3. Use the interactive tools or activities to explore more about wellness. 4. Explore additional Wellness resources in Library Databases.

1. Watch this short video about the eight dimensions of wellness from SAMHSA.

2. Read these articles to learn about the importance of wellness. Use your campus username and password to access off campus.

Well now: What humans need to flourish
Article from Stanford Medicine that discusses the definition of wellness and Stanford's WELL for Life program.
Nine dimensions of wellness: Your health and well-being isn't just about nutrition and exercise
Personally and professionally, we must take better care of ourselves. The benefits affect our future and increase our quality of life right now.
Predictors of well-being among college students
A research study that evaluates well-being among undergraduate students and identifies health-related risk behaviors that predict well-being in this population.

3. Tools and Activities

WELL for Life* from the Stanford Prevention Resource Center
Stanford's online survey is free and can be completed in about 30-40 minutes. The study is looking at various things that affect wellness.
Wellness Puzzle Challenge Activity
Use the puzzle pieces for interactive games, setting goals, or class projects.
Whole health: The power of you
Dr. Rakel's video examines the components of health and well being and how this model relates to health care providers and you.
Wellness Worksheets and Self-Assessments
Wellness Worksheets from SAMHSA help students become more involved in their own wellness.

4. Explore additional Wellness resources in Library Databases

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete can help you better understand key topics across the health and wellness spectrum — from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Using the database is easy. Search results are organized by source type, so you’ll quickly find the information you need in the format you want.
Health and Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly hundreds of health/medical journals, pamphlets, and health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from thousands of general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Watch this short video on how to use this database: