Research Guides: Diversity: Hispanic and Latino

Fiction

The Hurting Kind by Ada Limón
Call Number: Book Stacks PS3612.I496 H87 2022
ISBN: 9781639550494
Publication Date: 2022-05-10
An astonishing collection about interconnectedness-between the human and nonhuman, ancestors and ourselves-from National Book Critics Circle Award winner and National Book Award finalist Ada Limón
Zorro by Isabel Allende
Call Number: PQ8098.1.L54 Z4613 2006
ISBN: 9780060779009
Publication Date: 2006-04-25
Diego de la Vega, the son of an aristocratic Spanish landowner and a Shoshone mother, returns to California from school in Spain to reclaim the hacienda on which he was raised and to seek justice for the weak and helpless.
Bless Me, Ultima by Rudolfo Anaya
Call Number: Southcentral Ky Main - Book Stacks PS3551.N27 B58 1999
ISBN: 9780446600255
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
A coming-of-age classic and the bestselling Chicano novel that follows a young boy as he questions his faith and beliefs.
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gregory Rabassa (Translator); Gabriel García Márquez; Carlos Fuentes (Introduction by)
Call Number: On the Shelf under PQ8180.17.A73 C513 1998 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 0679444653
Publication Date: 1995
Tells the story of the Buendia family, and chronicles the irreconcilable conflict between the desire for solitude and the need for love.
Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz
Call Number: On the Shelf under PS3554.I259 B75 2007 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 9781594489587
Publication Date: 2007
Oscar is a sweet but disastrously overweight, lovesick Dominican ghetto nerd. From his home in New Jersey, where he lives with his old-world mother and rebellious sister, Oscar dreams of becoming the Dominican J. R. R. Tolkien and, most of all, of finding love.
The Murmur of Bees by Sofía Segovia; Simon Bruni (Translator); Sofía Segovia
Call Number: Southcentral Ky Main - Book Stacks PQ7298.429.E355 M8713 2019
ISBN: 9781542040501
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
From a beguiling voice in Mexican fiction comes an astonishing novel about a mysterious child with the power to change a family's history in a country on the verge of revolution.

Non-Fiction

The New Latino Studies Reader by Ramon A. Gutierrez (Editor); Tomas Almaguer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780520284838
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
The New Latino Studies Reader is designed as a contemporary, updated, multifaceted collection of writings to introduce students to a wide-ranging set of essays that helps them gain a truer understanding of what it's like to be a Latino in the United States.
Empires of the Atlantic World by J. H. Elliott
ISBN: 9780300114317
Publication Date: 2006-04-15
Elliott compares the Spanish and British empires in the Americas, from Columbus’s arrival to the end of Spanish colonial rule. This book analyzes their colonization processes, government styles, and independence movements, highlighting both similarities and differences, and how these empires shaped the Americas' future.
¡Muy Pop!: Conversations on Latino Popular Culture by Ilan Stavans; Frederick Luis Aldama
ISBN: 9780472035519
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Broad discussion of Hispanic popular culture, examining topics like lucha libre, telenovelas, and comics, asking how Hispanic pop culture evolves, varies across regions, and relates to highbrow culture, while questioning its homogenization and unique traits in the U.S.
Latino America by Matt Barreto; Gary M. Segura
ISBN: 9781610395014
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Barreto and Segura discuss the extent to which Latinos have already transformed the US politically and socially, and how Latino Americans are the most buoyant and dynamic ethnic and racial group and have the imminent potential to reshape the political and partisan landscape for a generation to come.
Debating Race, Ethnicity, and Latino Identity by Iván Jaksić (Editor)
ISBN: 9780231169448
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
Philosopher Jorge J. E. Gracia and fifteen scholars discuss race, ethnicity, and Hispanic/Latino identity in the U.S. They explore the intersection of African American and Latin American philosophies, debating issues like nationality, identity, and Affirmative Action, with Gracia's "Familial-Historical View" central to the dialogue.
The Chicano Generation by Mario T. García; Mario T. García
ISBN: 9780520961364
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Explores the Chicano civil rights movement in Los Angeles during the 1960s and 1970s. Through interviews with three key activists, it highlights their backgrounds, struggles, and activism. García contextualizes their efforts within broader Mexican American civil rights and empowerment movements.

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Diversity Resources in SKYCTC Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video
Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection includes hundreds of journal titles exploring cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Find contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Content includes viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.

Find Background Information

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Combines Encyclopdia Britannica and Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, plus magazines and periodicals, an atlas, biographies, e-books, and other tools.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

Reference Sources

Latino Almanac by Nicolás Kanellos
ISBN: 9781578596119
Publication Date: 2022-09-20
A fascinating mix of biographies, little-known or misunderstood historical facts, and enlightening essays on significant legislation, movements, current issues, and achievements across a variety of fields, including business, labor, politics, the military, music, sports, law, media, religion, art, literature, theater, film, science, technology, and medicine.
Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History by F. Arturo Rosales
ISBN: 9781558853478
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
With over 922 entries on significant events, figures, laws, and other historical items, this ground-breaking reference work covers the fight for equality from the mid-nineteenth century to the present by the various Hispanic groups in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Latino-American History by D. H. Figueredo
ISBN: 9781438140537
Publication Date: 2017-10-01
Examines all the events, themes, and individuals that have shaped Latino/Latina history, their centrality to the nation's experience in every era, and the wide diversity of ethnic groups that comprise this vast portion of the American population.
Hispanic American Religious Cultures by Miguel A. De La Torre (Editor)
Call Number: Southcentral Ky Main - Reference ; BL2525 .H57 2009
ISBN: 9781598841398
Publication Date: 2009-09-10
This encyclopedia is the first comprehensive survey of Hispanic American religiosity, contextualizing the roles of Latino and Latina Americans within U.S. religious culture.
Hispanic-American Literature by Ramirez
Call Number: Access online with SKYCTC login
ISBN: 9781438140605
Includes those authors and works that are an integral part of the literary canon, as well as those that are historically significant or gaining a reputation in today's literary circles.
Series: A to Z of Latino Americans by David E. Newton
ISBN: 9781438150017
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia series includes Latino athletes, writers and journalists, trailblazers in science, math, and professions, and in the Arts.