Research Guides: Diversity: LGBTQIA+

Library Electronic and General Resources for LGBTQIA+ Issues - Login with SKYCTC Username and Password off Campus

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from hundreds respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals, providing researchers unique, independent alternatives to mainstream media perspectives.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes thousands of ebooks from leading publishers like Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
How to Video

The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by Howard Chiang
Call Number: SKYCTC Main Reference HQ73 .G56 2019 (click library book link above for additional e-book access)
ISBN: 9780684325538
Publication Date: 2019-02-08
A three-volume set, The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History (Charles Scribner's Sons) will provide a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide.

Brainstorm!

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database and great place to start research brainstorming. With hundreds of digital reference titles from over 100 publishers, this database offers a user-friendly interface to access curated, authoritative reference sources, providing users with a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Credo also features a tool called "Mind Map" to help users brainstorm key terms and related concepts, and even connect to e-journals in the library databases to access more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles. Login to Credo with your SKYCTC username and password to brainstorm!

LGBTQIA+ Featured Books

The Beginner's Guide to Being a Trans Ally

This easy-to-read guide offers information and advice to anyone wanting to understand more about trans experiences.

Southernmost

In the aftermath of a flood that washes away much of a small Tennessee town, evangelical preacher Asher Sharp offers shelter to two gay men. In doing so, starts to see his life anew and risks losing everything.

This Book Is Gay

Lesbian. Gay. Bisexual. Transgender. Queer. Intersex. Straight. Curious. This book is for everyone, regardless of gender or sexual preference.

All Boys Aren't Blue

In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson's All Boys Aren't Blue explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia.

The Queer and Transgender Resilience Workbook

The Queer and Transgender Resilience Workbook will teach you how to challenge internalized negative messages, handle stress, build a community of support, and embrace your true self.

Pride and Joy

A collection sharing stories of success, happiness, and inspiration from the LGBTQ+ community.

LGBTQIA+ Resources

Gay-Straight Alliance Student Organization at SKYCTC
Hopes to prove that we are a family not defined by sexual orientation. Our goal is to provide unbiased support and encouragement for all members. We aim to promote education within our community, as well as ourselves. Focuses will be love, honor, and respect for all people while providing a nonjudgmental, safe, environment for its members.
Kentucky LGBTQ Historic Context Narrative
Provides a broad historical overview of LGBTQ people and history in Kentucky and offers guidance in identifying historic sites and sources.
SAMHSA Resources for LGBT Population and Assistance
Resources on the LGBT population include national survey reports, agency and federal initiatives, and related behavioral health resources.
An Ally's Guide to Issues Facing LGBT Americans from the Movement Advancement Project
A primer introducing the major areas in which unfair laws and stigma create extra burdens for LGBT Americans and prevent them from having the chance to pursue health and happiness, earn a living, be safe in their communities, and serve their country. The guide features maps and discussions of federal and state laws that stand in the way of equal opportunity for LGBT Americans.
Safe Place for Youth Guidelines
If you are a young person in need of immediate help and safety, no matter your race, ethnicity, religion, gender, sexual orientation, or any other way you identify yourself, you may go to any location with this sign to receive help.
Queer Kentucky
Queer Kentucky is a diverse LGBTQ+ run non-profit based in Louisville, Kentucky working to bolster and enhance Queer culture and health though storytelling, education and action.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month - Library of Congress
The collections of the Library of Congress contain many books, posters, sound recordings, manuscripts and other material produced by, about and for the LGBTQ community.
WKU Pride Center
Library of Congress - Pride Month
The U.S. Library of Congress entry on LGBTQ Pride Month, plus events and resources.
History Channel.com - Stonewall Riots
Read about how the June 1969 riots at New York City's Stonewall Inn marked a raucous turning point in the fight for LGBT rights.