Research Guides: Literature: Greek & Roman

eBooks - Use SKYCTC Login

Bulfinch's Mythology: Stories of Gods and Heroes by Bulfinch
Call Number: Online from Bartleby.com
ISBN: 9781626864696
Reference guide to the deities of Greek and Roman mythology.
Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology by Luke Roman & Monica Roman
ISBN: 9780816072422
Classical Literature by Croally and Hyde
ISBN: 0415468132
Publication Date: 2011
Ranges from Homer to the writers of the later Roman Empire, and includes a glossary, a chronology of literary and political events, and maps showing the origins of ancient writers.

Selection of Mythology DVDs and Books on the Shelf at SKYCTC

DVD The Power of Myth
Call Number: On the Shelf under BL304 .J63 2012 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: B00A4E8E1O
disc 1. episode 1. The hero's adventure ; episode 2. The message of the myth ; episode 3. The first storytellers -- disc 2. episode 4. Sacrifice and bliss ; episode 5. Love and the goddess ; episode 6. Masks of eternity -- disc 3. Bonus disc
DVD Mythos
Call Number: On the Shelf under BL304 .M98 2002 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: B008CYDE0E
isc 1. Psyche and symbol ; The spirit land ; On being human ; From goddesses to God -- disc 2. The mystical life ; The inward path ; The enlightened one ; Our eternal selves -- disc 3. The way to illumination ; The experience of God.
DVD Clash of the Gods
Call Number: On the Shelf under BL312 .C537 2010 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 1422971163
Explores the history surrounding some of the world's greatest legends and mythological figures.
Contents
Zeus -- Hercules -- Hades -- The labyrinth of the Minotaur -- Medusa -- Odysseus : curse of the sea -- Odysseus : warrior's revenge -- Beowulf -- Tolkien's monsters -- Thor.
DVD Troy
Call Number: On the Shelf under PN1997.2 .T76 2012 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 0790782995
Two emerging nations clash after Paris, a Trojan prince, convinces Helen, Queen of Sparta, to leave her husband Menelaus, and sail with him back to Troy.
Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses by Jordan
Call Number: On the Shelf under REFERENCE BL473 .J67 2004 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 0816059233
Comprehensive listing of deities of principal religions
Myth by Doty
Call Number: On the Shelf under REFERENCE BL304 .D577 2004 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 0313326967
Introduction -- Definitions and classifications -- Examples and texts -- Scholarship and approaches -- Contexts and transmissions.
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend by Anthony S. Mercatante & James R. Dow
Call Number: On the Shelf REFERENCE BL303 .M45 2004 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 0816047081
Mythology by Hamilton
Call Number: On the Shelf under BL311 .H345 2013 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 9780316223331
The Gods, the creation, and the earliest heroes.
Bulfinch's Mythology: Stories of Gods and Heroes
Call Number: On the Shelf under BL723 .B85 2015 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 9781626864696
100 Characters from Classical Mythology by Malcolm Day
Call Number: On the Shelf under BL723 .D38 2007/ SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 9780764160066
The Complete World of Greek Mythology by Buxton
Call Number: On the Shelf under BL783 .B89 2004 / SKYCTC Library
ISBN: 9780500251218

Resources in Library Databases

Quick links for frequently used library databases for this subject.

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus. Some databases may only be available from a SKYCTC campus computer.

eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase)
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale)
Discover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Find Background Information

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Academic
Combines Encyclopdia Britannica and Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, plus magazines and periodicals, an atlas, biographies, e-books, and other tools.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase)
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

Resources on the Web

Glossary of Greek and Roman Mythology
Online flashcards you can study or use to create your own list.
Ancient History Graphics
Includes timelines for ancient Greek and Roman empires, as well as a family tree for Greek mythology
Classical Mythology Podcast
Listen as the speakers investigate the gods, heroes, and myths that formed bedrock of belief in the ancient Greek and Roman world.
Theoi Greek Mythology
A site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art
Perseus Digital Library
Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world