CIT 105: Library Database Tutorial

Work through the Library Database Tutorial from top to bottom. Read the content, watch the videos, and click on the example links in each section. Answer the practice questions to quiz yourself. For help with this tutorial, use the Ask a Librarian link at the top of this page.

KCTCS Information Literacy Outcomes

1. Find Information: appropriate resources, search strategies, keyword, etc.
2. Evaluate Information: authority, accuracy, timeliness, purpose, relevance, value etc. 
3. Use Information: citations, ethics, effectiveness, evidence, etc.

After completing this online library module you will be able to:

• Understand the difference between the surface Web and library databases.
• Choose keywords and related terms for a topic.
• Use Boolean operators, keywords, and limiters to search within a library database.
• Use database tools, such as printing, emailing, linking, and citing.
• Reformulate a topic and/or search strategy for better search results.

Search engines like Google and Bing locate resources on the "surface" Web: wikis, blogs, news, commercial sites, and social networking sites. Specialized search engines like Google Scholar will retrieve academic articles that are published or indexed on the Web. However, these resources are only a small part of the total resources on the Web. 

Library databases are part of the "deep" Web. Search engines do not usually retrieve articles inside library databases because users have to login with a password.

This image is from the Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of April 24, 2015) licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/ENGL115-Amich.

This short video explains the difference between the surface Web and the deep Web. 

This video explains library databases and the free Web vs. databases. 

More precise keywords or phrases than can help you find better resources in search engines and library databases. Keywords sum up the main idea of a topic. Thinking about the keywords for a topic before beginning your search will help you save time and get better results.

Here is an example assignment: 

a three-page paper explaining the pros and cons of using green energy. 

Write down the main idea words from the assignment instructions.

pros, cons, using, green energy

Write down other words that are similar to the main idea words.

negative effects, positive effects, usage, alternate energy, renewable energy

Write down specific examples of the topic.

solar energy, geothermal power, solar power, solar panels, wind power, wind energy, wind turbine, hydroelectric power, hydropower, cost, environmental impact, conservation

Write down other related words or ideas, such as acronyms or agencies.

EPA, USDA, Green Energy Management Services

Thinking of a Master Plan image by Jorg Schubert licensed under Creative Commons.

This video has more information about choosing keywords and search terms.

Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) connect keywords to get more precise results in search engines library databases. Search engines automatically insert AND between words, but students can use advanced search tools to create their own keyword combinations.

This short video introduces how to do a search in EBSCO databases like Academic Search Complete. 

This short video shows how to use the database tools for citing articles in EBSCO databases. 

NOTE: Always check database citations with the appropriate style manual for spelling, punctuation and spacing errors. For more information about citing sources, click on the link below or use the tab at the top of the guide.

Do a practice search in the search box below. Type in a keyword about the pros and cons of using green energy. Then try some keyword combinations. Practice using the limiters and tools. The EBSCO databases are best viewed in Firefox or Chrome.

If your results do not fit what you need, try some of these strategies: 

• Broaden or narrow the search with different combinations of keywords and Boolean operators.
• Check the spelling.
• Use the Web to find more keywords.
• Look at the keywords and subject terms for articles in the databases.
• Review the steps about choosing keywords.