Sociology: Resources

Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.

Watch this short video on how to use this database:

This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text journals.

Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, and liberal arts courses.

Watch this short video on how to use this database:

This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Find contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Content includes viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.

Watch this short video on how to use this database:

SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes thousands of ebooks from leading publishers like Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.

SKYCTC's electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference. Also searches our K-8 eBook collection. Academic titles are not discoverable in Library Search - doublecheck this database for eBooks on your topics.

Watch this short video on how to use this database:

The Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) has partnered with the University Press of Kentucky to make more than 1,300 titles freely available to KYVL member libraries, with a focus on the history and culture of Kentucky, the Ohio Valley region, the Upper South, and Appalachia. Browse the collection, then click the large Download button to access a title. DO NOT click Off-campus Download for UK only.

Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.