Research Guides: Respiratory Care: Library Resources

Cardiopulmonary Diagnostic Suite

Cardiopulmonary Diagnostic Suite is on reserve on two Learning Commons laptops and available for a two-hour, in-room checkout in the SKYCTC Learning Commons in L-119. Software can be accessed with the username and password from professors Ken McKenney or Dwight Austin.

Test Prep and Career Resources

Job and Career Accelerator
Careers resources from Learning Express Library in the Kentucky Virtual Library. Resume Builder - Interview Skills - Job Search - Practice Tests - Computer Skills
American Association of Respiratory Care - Careers
Search job postings, find tips for resume writing, interviewing, & more!
Resume Help from Purdue Online Writing Lab
Help writing résumés for your job search.
The National Board for Respiratory Care
Includes information about examinations and FREE practice tests.

Models in Study Room L-119-I

We have anatomical models to help you study!

Human torso model

Life-size human skeleton

Miniature human muscular figure

Human respiratory system model

Disarticulated skeleton

Human brain model

Library Databases

You can search specific databases below for health related articles, eBooks, & more.

CINAHL with Full Text
Full text for thousands of the most-used nursing & allied health journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
MEDLINE
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative information from biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Health and Medicine
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Nursing and Allied Health
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Career and Technical Education: Health & Medicine
This database is the definitive source for vocational information focused on health and medicine.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Professional Resources and Associations

American Association for Respiratory Care
National Association for Medical Direction of Respiratory Care
American College of Chest Physicians
Respiratory Care
Provides information about the SKYCTC Respiratory Care program.

Books on the Shelf

Respiratory Therapists by Kezia Endsley
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks; RC735.I5 E53 2023

ISBN: 9781538173695

Publication Date: 2023-05-15

Welcome to the respiratory therapist field! If you are interested in a career as a respiratory therapist, you've come to the right book.
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment by Mcphee Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Maxine A. Papadakis; Michael W. Rabow
Call Number: Reference RC71 .C87 2017

ISBN: 9781259585111

Online Resources

Physician's Desk Reference: Browse by Drug Name
Digital version of the Physician's Desk Reference book. Browse PDR's full list of drug information alphabetically by choosing the first letter of the drug you are trying to locate.

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.