Research Guides: Psychology : General Library Resources

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

APA Style Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: On the Shelf in Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010 / SKYCTC Library

ISBN: 9781433832178

Publication Date: 2019

Official source for APA Style. Social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.

APA Style Examples of References
Examples of common resources cited and other tools from the APA organization.

Reserves for 2-Hour Checkout

2-hour Reserves at Main Campus L113

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR by American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 A48 2022

ISBN: 9780890425763

Publication Date: 2022-03-18

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013.
Every Body by Julie Cohen (Director)
Call Number: SKYCTC PSY 223 Reading List - Ward

Publication Date: 2023

Every Body tells the stories of three intersex individuals who have moved from childhoods marked by shame, secrecy, and non-consensual surgeries to thriving adulthoods. Actor and screenwriter River Gallo (they/them), political consultant Alicia Roth Weigel (she/they), and Ph.D. student Sean Saifa Wall (he/him) are now leaders in a fast-growing global movement advocating for greater understanding of the intersex community and an end to unnecessary surgeries. Woven into the story is a stranger-than-fiction case of medical abuse, featuring exclusive footage from the NBC News archives, which helps explain the modern-day treatment of intersex people.
Saving Normal by Allen Frances
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC PSY 298 WARD

ISBN: 9780062229267

Publication Date: 2014-08-12

explains why stigmatizing a healthy person as mentally ill leads to unnecessary, harmful medications, the narrowing of horizons, the misallocation of medical resources, and the draining of the budgets of families and the nation.
The Undertaking [videorecording] by Miri Navasky & Karen O'Connor (writers, producers, and directors)
Call Number: GT3203 .U53 2007

ISBN: 079369390X

Publication Date: 2007-10-30

"Thomas Lynch, 58, is a writer and a poet. He's also a funeral director in a small town in central Michigan where he and his family have cared for the dead -- and the living -- for three generations. For the first time, Lynch agreed to allow cameras inside Lynch & Sons, giving FRONTLINE producers Miri Navasky and Karen O'Connor rare, behind-the-scenes access -- from funeral arrangements to the embalming room -- to the Lynches' world for this film.
American Experience: The Lobotomist by Sharon Grimberg (series producer), Barak Goodman & John Maggio (producers & directors)
Call Number: RD594 .L63 2008

ISBN: 0793694094

Publication Date: 2008

The medical procedure, lobotomy, was considered a groundbreaking procedure that promised hope to the most distressed mentally ill patients and their families. What began as an operation of last resort was soon being performed at some fifty state asylums, often with devastating results. The neurologist, Walter Freeman, in little more than a decade after his rise to fame, was decried as a moral monster, and that the lobotomy was one of the most barbaric mistakes of modern medicine. Through interviews with former patients and their families, students, and medical historians, get an unprecedented look at one of the darkest chapters in psychiatric history.

Librarian / Associate Professor

Esther French

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119E

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services

Recommended Journals from Library Databases

Click on the journal. If you are off campus, you will get a prompt to log in with your KCTCS account.

International Journal of Psychology
Covers all fields of psychology. Includes articles that either (a) incorporate perspectives from different areas within psychology or from disciplines of relevance for psychology, (b) study the role of physical, social and cultural contexts in psychological processes and outcomes, or (c) integrate psychological thinking from different regions in the world.
American Journal of Psychology
Explores the science of the mind and behavior, publishing reports of original research in experimental psychology, theoretical presentations, combined theoretical and experimental analyses, historical commentaries, and in-depth reviews of significant books.

Recommended Resources from Library Databases for Definitions, Background Information, and Topics

Psychology Today
A magazine about current, popular topics in psychology. Presents scientifically accurate psychological information for the layperson. Includes book reviews and editorials.

Developmental Psychology by Lynn M. Shelly-Sireci
Call Number: Access online with SKYCTC login

ISBN: 9781438141435

Shows how we change as we gradually move from infancy into childhood and, ultimately, through adulthood and old age.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by David Matsumoto
Call Number: Access online with SKYCTC login

Publication Date: 2009-09-07
The Cambridge Handbook of Personality Psychology by Philip J. Corr, Gerald Matthews
Call Number: Access online with SKYCTC login

Publication Date: 2009-07-16

Recommended Databases for Definitions and Background Information

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Academic
Combines Encyclopdia Britannica and Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, plus magazines and periodicals, an atlas, biographies, e-books, and other tools.
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase)
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

Psychology : General Library Resources