Research Guides: Office Systems Technology: Library Resources

Special Topics

Business Writing Tips
Microsoft Office Online Training and Help
Tips, tricks, training, and official support for using Microsoft Office.

Resources on the Web

Google Search

Off Campus?

Use your KCTCS email ID and password to access databases off campus.

If you are unable to login, try using Kentucky Virtual Library.

Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) Databases
Many of our databases are accessible using KYVL. SKYCTC students and employees can request the username and password for KYVL databases, which is different than your KCTCS login. To request the KYVL username and password, use the following link: https://password.kyvl.org/PasswordRequest.aspx, or contact the SKYCTC Help Desk (270-901-1171).

Still having trouble?

Off Campus Access Guide
Use your SKYCTC username and password to access most library databases off campus. Visit our Off Campus Access guide for more help or call the Library Help Desk at (270) 901-1171.

I'm beginning my research.

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Quick Links

Quick links and search boxes for frequently used library databases and journal titles for this subject.

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus. Some databases may only be available from a SKYCTC campus computer.

Business Source Premier
Full text for more than 2,300 journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. See MarketLine Company Profiles for company research papers.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Bloomberg Businessweek
A direct link to the electronic version. Click on a date on the right to browse that issue, or choose the "Search within this publication" link.

ProQuest Databases
Contains: Home Office Computing, Office Solutions, Administrative Assistant's Update, and Office World News
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
SKYCTC's electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference. Also searches our K-8 eBook collection. Academic titles are not discoverable in Library Search - doublecheck this database for eBooks on your topics.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Learning Express Library
1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks for job skills; reading, writing, math, and science skills; and practice tests for career certification and licenses.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

What is a Library Database?

On the Shelf at SKYCTC

On Reserve for 2-hour in-house use in L-113:

Gregg College Keyboarding & Document Processing (GDP); Lessons 1-60 Text by Scot Ober; Jack E. Johnson; Arlene Zimmerly
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC OST 110 - OTTO
ISBN: 9780077319366
Publication Date: 2010-04-02
Your complete learning/teaching system. Your guide to success. GDP/11 is an integrated keyboarding system designed to process and score documents created in Microsoft Word.

On the shelf for 28-day check out:

The Gregg Reference Manual by William Sabin
Call Number: PE1479.B87 S23 2011
ISBN: 0073397105
Publication Date: 2011
Style manual for business professionals and for students who want to master the on-the-job standards of business professionals.
Accounting Handbook by Joel G. Siegel; Jae K. Shim
Call Number: HF5635 .S586 2006
ISBN: 0764157760
Publication Date: 2006
Opportunities in Administrative Assistant Careers by Blanche Ettinger
Call Number: HF5547.5 .E78 2007
ISBN: 0071476091
Publication Date: 2007
Overview of the job possibilities, salary figures, and experience required to become an administrative assistant.
Administrative Assistant's and Secretary's Handbook by Kevin Wilson; James Stroman; Jennifer Wauson; K. Wilson
Call Number: HF5547.5 .S8163 2008
ISBN: 081440913X
Publication Date: 2008
Written in a down-to-earth style, Administrative Assistant's and Secretary's Handbook provides readers with information on subjects including record keeping, telephone usage, office machines, mail, business letters, and computer software skills.
E-Z Accounting by Eisen; Eisen
Call Number: HF5636 .E453 2009
ISBN: 0764142569

Upgrade Your Communication Skills at Work Series (DVDs)
HF 5718 .U6 2009
Ten discs including:
1. Talking & listening
2. Meetings
3. Presentations
4. Networking
5. Phone calls & messages
6. Email
7. Letters
8. Ads & brochures
9. Websites & blogs
10. Professionalism.

Journals and Magazines

CIO

Computer World

Office Pro

Need Help?

Esther French

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119E

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services

Office Systems Technology: Library Resources

Welcome!