Research Guides: Nutrition: Nutrition Resources

Career Prep Tools

Login with your campus username and password and create your own account. Check out the occupational practice exams, resume builder, and other tools.

Career Preparation
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve workplace skills.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Resources on the Web

Nutrition.gov
Current Dietary Guidelines for Americans
MedLine Plus: Food and Nutrition
Dietitians and Nutritionists: Occupational Outlook Handbook
Culinary Arts Program at SKYCTC
USDA Food Composition Website
Multi-informational site with 9 subcategories on everything you ever wanted to know about food!
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.
American Heart Association
See section on "Healthy Living" for facts on eating healthy an the AHA "seal of approval" foods.
Food Allergy Resources and Education
FARE provides food allergy education, support and coping strategies.
Mayo Clinic
Search nutrition in the search box and pull up numerous entries. Award-winning site also offers medical information.
The American Cancer Association
Search in the "Eat Healthy and Get Active" section for sound nutritional advice.
Food Safety News
Timely reporting on food safety, including recalls.
WebMD
Contains all sorts of medical information, including nutrition. Search the "Living Healthy" section to get started.

Resources in Library Databases

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines covering Information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete can help you better understand key topics across the health and wellness spectrum — from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Using the database is easy. Search results are organized by source type, so you’ll quickly find the information you need in the format you want.
Career and Technical Education: Health & Medicine
This database is the definitive source for vocational information focused on health and medicine.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Health and Medicine

Up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics in full-text journals, reference books, pamphlets, and videos for current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Health and Wellness

This comprehensive consumer health resource provides researchers with authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
EBSCOhost Databases
Comprises most of our EBSCOhost collection for e-journal articles both scholarly and non-peer reviewed, newspapers articles, eBooks, and more. View “Searching” or “Advanced Search” to see all EBSCOhost database subscriptions and to limit which databases you want to search in.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

provided by KYVL
Library Search

Library Search is an all-inclusive tool for searching most of the resources offered by the SKYCTC Learning Commons and open access sources, including books, eBooks, scholarly journal articles, trade, news, and popular publications, streaming film and other media sources.

On the Shelf at SKYCTC

Foodmatters DVD RZ440 .F66 2009
more... less...

Potentially controversial, the filmmakers have interviewed several world leaders in nutrition and natural healing who claim that not only are we harming our bodies with improper nutrition, but that the right kind of foods, supplements and detoxification can be used to treat chronic illnesses as fatal as terminally diagnosed cancer. The focus of the film is in helping us rethink the belief systems fed to us by our modern medical and health care establishments.
Food Inc. DVD HD9005 .F66 2009
more... less...

For most Americans, the ideal meal is fast, cheap, and tasty. Food, Inc. examines the costs of putting value and convenience over nutrition and environmental impact.

In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan
Call Number: RA784 .P643 2009

ISBN: 9780143114963

Publication Date: 2009
Healthy Eating: Nutrition and Weight Management by Lori A. Smolin; Mary B. Grosvenor; Richard J. Deckelbaum
Call Number: RA784 .S5979 2010

ISBN: 9781604138030

Publication Date: 2010
Nutrition in Clinical Practice by David Katz; Ming-Chin Yeh; Joshua Levitt; Kofi D. Essel; Shivam Joshi; Rachel Summer Clair Friedman
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks RM216 .K37 2022

ISBN: 9781975161491

Publication Date: 2022-01-08

Designed for clinicians struggling to fit the critical issue of nutrition into their patient encounters, this title provides a comprehensive array of nutrition topics.

ebooks at SKYCTC

The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health by Robert Ronzio
ISBN: 9781438141565

Publication Date: 2017

Provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices.Updated with the latest data, developments, and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases.
Series: Healthy Eating: A Guide to Nutrition
ISBN: 9781438143804

Publication Date: 2019

Six titles in the series:
(1) Basic Nutrition
(2) Nutrition and Disease Prevention
(3) Nutrition and Eating Disorders
(4) Nutrition and Food Safety
(5) Nutrition and Weight Management
(6) Nutrition for Sports and Exercise
Nutrition for Dummies by Carol Ann Rinzler
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9781119724025

Publication Date: 2021-04-06

Updated with the latest available research and the new 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines.
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by Carroll A. Lutz; Erin Mazur; Nancy Litch
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9780803637184

Publication Date: 2014-08-11

An AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! This popular text provides a strong foundation in the science of nutrition and a clear understanding of how to apply that knowledge in practice, recognizing the need for nurses to work with other healthcare professionals to ensure optimal nutrition in patient care.

Nutrition: Nutrition Resources

Welcome!

Career Prep Tools

Resources on the Web

Resources in Library Databases

On the Shelf at SKYCTC

ebooks at SKYCTC