Start with the recommended resources, including government reports and peer-reviewed journals below, for your project. If you need additional assistance, you can send a question to the Ask a Librarian or Tutor link at the top of this guide.
The following are topics that should be included as they relate to the specific culture/religion and healthcare:
Watch the short video from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health. The OMH Knowledge Center Library Search is a great place to begin a broad search for your cultural topic. The Knowledge Center will to link to any full-text documents that are available through PubMED and other open resources. If you find a resource that does not offer a full-text link, check with your librarian to see if it is available through the SKYCTC library.
For more peer-reviewed articles, search within the CINAHL with Full Text Allied Health library database, or browse for topics in specific journals, such as the Journal of Cultural Diversity, the Journal of Health Disparities Research and Practice, or the ABNF Journal, which have the full-text articles available through SKYCTC library databases. You can also view the full issue to see a list of articles to get ideas for a topic.
Consult single chapters in ebooks to gather more in-depth research into your topic as needed. Try a topic search inside the book or look at chapter titles on the contents page. You can also do a keyword search in the Ebook Central database: topic + nursing or healthcare.
Key resource: Handbook of Patients’ Spiritual and Cultural Values for Health Care Professionals
Additional resource: The Handbook for Culturally Competent Care has sections on individual cultures.
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by 
Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses: How to Deliver Culturally Compe by 
Mary Breckinridge by 
SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes thousands of ebooks from leading publishers like Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.
For a general overview or background information on a cultural topic, do a keyword search for your topic in the religion, Diversity Studies, or Credo Reference library databases. These resources can help you formulate what issues or questions need to be addressed or indicate existing health programs that you can investigate further.
Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Watch this short video to see how to use the CRAAP Test to evaluate any resource to make sure it is high-quality and reliable. Use the CRAAP worksheet to evaluate your resources and choose the best for your assignment.
Watch these videos to see how to use use the citation tool in library databases for the APA style citation for your References page and how to use NoodleTools Express to create citations for any resources not found in a library database, such as government websites and reports. Keep track of your research throughout the process by saving articles to a file and creating a draft of your References page in a Word document for Office365.
