Research Guides: News Sources at SKYCTC: Getting Started

Newspapers & News Databases

Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Covers local (Washington, D.C.), national, international news, 1983+.
Kentucky Newspaper Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to 78 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader. The Suggested Topics feature on the homepage can help select topics for essays, speeches and current events research. Coverage from 1989 to the present.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes access to 78 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader. The Suggested Topics feature on the homepage can help select topics for essays, speeches and current events research. Coverage from 1980 to current.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Includes news & information for college and university faculty members and administrators. Available on campus and off-campus. Users are free to create an account with their KCTCS email address to log in as well and customize their experience and newsfeed.
World News Digest (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
World News Digest serves as an archival record of domestic and international news and covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides full-text articles from hundreds of publications of the alternative and independent presses, from 1970 to current.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for dozens of U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for hundreds of regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 100 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

General Databases

Includes Newspaper sources and also reference information, audiovisual clips, peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, statistics, and more! See menu options to limit to full-text, by publication date, and resource format (ex: Newspapers).

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Featuring continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text academic articles in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for almost ten thousand journals, most of which are peer-reviewed titles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

CURRENT HEADLINES FROM THE BOWLING GREEN DAILY NEWS

Analyze News Sources

Why Use Newspapers?

Newspapers have unique qualities that make them a great source for finding:

In-depth coverage of a particular country, state or city
Reports on activities of state and local government
Obituaries and other genealogical information
First-hand accounts of events
Editorial analysis of news and events
Up-to-date coverage of breaking news
Historic research in news archives

Why use Newspaper databases?

Most newspapers have websites with news and historical archives. However, the SKYCTC Library subscribes to several newspaper databases that offer advantages over searching newspapers directly on the Web:

Search more than one newspaper at the same time
Powerful keyword search engines
Deep historic news archives
Access to content that costs money on the Web

A word of caution

While newspapers are reliable sources of information on current events and issues, they are not considered scholarly resources. Please check your instructor's assignment guidelines to know whether or not newspapers may be used for your paper or project.

Find Background Information

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Online: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, e-books, news, multimedia, an interactive world atlas, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database. With hundreds of digital reference titles from over 100 publishers, this database offers a user-friendly interface to access curated, authoritative reference sources, providing users with a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Credo helps users gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and even connect to e-journals in the library databases to access more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.