Research Guides: Medical Terminology: Library Resources

Online Dictionaries, Flash Cards, and More

These are just a few examples of eBooks in our collection.

Click on the title to access any of the eBooks listed below.

Medical Terminology Systems by Barbara Gylys; Mary Wedding
ISBN: 9780803621459

Publication Date: 2009-03-17
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes; Clarence Wilbur Taber
ISBN: 9780803629776

Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations by Stanley Jablonski
ISBN: 9781416058991

Publication Date: 2008-10-23
Medical Terminology Simplified by Barbara Gylys; Regina Masters
ISBN: 9780803620919

Publication Date: 2009-11-23

Latin & Greek Nomenclature

Latin & Greek Nomenclature
Includes a list of Latin and Greek words related to the medical field. Also includes the Greek alphabet and Roman numerals.

Try These Pronunciation Websites!

OpenMD Dictionary
OpenMD is a medical reference service that makes high-quality medical information easily accessible to everyone. Use the dictionary to search for medical concepts or browse an alphabetical list. Includes audio pronunciation clips.
Webster's Medical Dictionary
Most words also include an audio pronunciation clip
The Free Dictionary's Medical Dictionary
The main source of TheFreeDictionary's Medical dictionary is The American Heritage® Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Second Edition, which provides authoritative descriptions of medical conditions, medications, anatomical terms, noted medical personalities and much more. Includes audio pronunciation clips.
Howjsay
Learn the American Accent and use Correct English Pronunciation today

Other online resources

We Have the Books You Need at Main Campus!

On Reserve in L 113 for 2-hour, in-house use:

Mosby's Medical Terminology Flash Cards by Mosby
Call Number: On Reserve R 123 .M673 2021

ISBN: 9780323762892

Publication Date: 2021-11-09

This set of 675 colorful flash cards makes it fun and easy to master the language of health care! Mosby's Medical Terminology Flash Cards, 5th Edition helps you memorize the prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms used to build medical terms.
Medical Terminology by Cindy Destafano; Fran Federman
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC AHS 115 - White

ISBN: 9781685842338

Publication Date: 2022-06-28

Introduces you to the language of medicine. Students will learn the meanings of word parts and spell, pronounce, break down, and build medical terms integral to the field of health sciences.
Essentials of Medical Language by David Allan; Karen Lockyer
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC AHS 115 - WHITE

ISBN: 9780073513799

Publication Date: 2015-06-05

Presents new medical terminology to students in manageable quantities.
Medical Language for Modern Health Care by David Allan, Rachel C. Basco
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC AHS 115 - White

ISBN: 9780077820725

Publication Date: 2018-02-01

Introduces medical terminology within a healthcare environment through the context of anatomy and physiology, pathology, diagnostic, and therapeutic procedures as well as pharmacology with patient case studies, students see real-life application of medical terminology.
Acquiring Medical Language by Steven L. Jones
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9781259638169

Publication Date: 2018-02-01

Emphasizes medical terminology as a language rather than terms to remember, accomplished through understanding how to break down medical language and having a basic knowledge of Greek and Latin roots to make medical language transparent.
Medical Terminology by Barbara Janson Cohen; Ann DePetris
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9781451187564

Publication Date: 2013-02-25

Medical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide, 7e by Barbara Janson Cohen uses a stepwise approach to learning medical terminology.
Medical Terminology by Bonnie Fremgen; Suzanne Frucht
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9780134701202

Publication Date: 2018-01-04

Master medical language and apply this knowledge to real-world contexts. Rather than memorizing medical terms, students learn how to use word parts to build terms, within the context of basic A&P.
Medical Terminology Simplified by Barbara A. Gylys; Regina M. Masters
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9780803639713

Publication Date: 2014-03-24

Explore each body system unit through a summary of major combining forms, a comprehensive pathology section, and additional medical records and evaluations, complemented by true-to-life artwork.
Using Medical Terminology by Judi Lindsley Nath
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9781451115833

Publication Date: 2012-10-12

The approach used in Using Medical Terminology, 2e is to immerse you in the language, similar to how you'd learn a foreign language. Terms are learned in context, which helps to better understand and remember them.

Find this book on the shelf at Main Campus.

Medical Terminology by Davi-Ellen Chabner
Call Number: R123 .C43 2015

ISBN: 9781455758302

Publication Date: 2014-10-14

Chabner omits time-consuming, nonessential information and helps you build a working medical vocabulary of the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots in the medical field. Medical terms are introduced in the context of human anatomy and physiology to help you understand exactly what they mean, and case studies, vignettes, and activities demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice.

We Have the Books You Need at Glasgow Health!

Find this book on the shelf at Glasgow Health.

Medical Terminology Systems by Barbara A. Gylys; Mary Ellen Wedding
Call Number: R123 .G94 2009

ISBN: 9780803621459

Publication Date: 2009-03-24

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Find It Online!

Use your KCTCS username and password to log into the databases from home.

CINAHL with Full Text
Full text for thousands of the most-used nursing & allied health journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Health and Medicine
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Nursing and Allied Health
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Career and Technical Education: Health & Medicine
This database is the definitive source for vocational information focused on health and medicine.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Health and Wellness

This comprehensive consumer health resource provides researchers with authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Director of the Learning Commons

Kathryne LeFevre

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119G

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services