Research Guides: Medical Information Technology: Library Resources

Career Tools

Login with your campus username and password and create your own account. Check out the occupational practice exams, resume builder, and other tools.

Career Preparation
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve workplace skills.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Online Journals & Magazines

For the Record
In-depth reporting on relevant and timely subjects, including coding, transcription, clinical documentation, EMRs/EHRs, technological innovations, and compliance and privacy concerns.
NIH MedlinePlus
Digital edition of latest breakthroughs from NIH-supported research. Past issues and PDFs available.
Provider
Tracks the pulse of the industry and serves as a source of business and clinical news for long term and post-acute care professionals.

Special Topics Online

US Dept. of Health and Human Service, HIPAA Information
MTStars
Discussion forums for Medical Transcriptionists

Resources on the Web

Resources in Library Databases

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus. Some databases may only be available from a SKYCTC campus computer.

CINAHL with Full Text
Full text for thousands of the most-used nursing & allied health journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Health and Medicine

Up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics in full-text journals, reference books, pamphlets, and videos for current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Nursing and Allied Health

Includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This resource helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.
Wach this short video on how to use this database:
Career and Technical Education: Health & Medicine
This database is the definitive source for vocational information focused on health and medicine.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

eBooks & Journals from SKYCTC

Access these off campus with your KCTCS username and password.

Journal of Ahima
Professional development tool for health information managers. Includes information about issues that affect the practice.
Journal of Law, Medicine, & Ethics
Peer-reviewed journal for research at the intersection of law, health policy, ethics, and medicine.

Medical Terminology Simplified by Barbara Gylys; Regina Masters
ISBN: 9780803620919

Publication Date: 2009-11-23

A programmed learning, word-building approach for self-paced learning and review and in-class instruction.
Medical Office Professionals by Marcia Santore
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)

ISBN: 9781538111871

Publication Date: 2019-01-31

Information on careers in the medical office professional field.

On the Shelf and on Reserve at SKYCTC

On Reserve for 2 hours, in-house use in L 113

Mosby's Medical Terminology Flash Cards by Mosby
Call Number: On Reserve R 123 .M673 2021

ISBN: 9780323762892

Publication Date: 2021-11-09

This set of 675 colorful flash cards makes it fun and easy to master the language of health care! Mosby's Medical Terminology Flash Cards, 5th Edition helps you memorize the prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms used to build medical terms.
Medical Terminology by Cindy Destafano; Fran Federman
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC AHS 115 - White

ISBN: 9781685842338

Publication Date: 2022-06-28

Introduces you to the language of medicine. Students will learn the meanings of word parts and spell, pronounce, break down, and build medical terms integral to the field of health sciences.
Essentials of Medical Language by David Allan; Karen Lockyer
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC AHS 115 - WHITE

ISBN: 9780073513799

Publication Date: 2015-06-05

Presents new medical terminology to students in manageable quantities.
Medical Language for Modern Health Care by David Allan, Rachel C. Basco
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC AHS 115 - White

ISBN: 9780077820725

Publication Date: 2018-02-01

Introduces medical terminology within a healthcare environment through the context of anatomy and physiology, pathology, diagnostic, and therapeutic procedures as well as pharmacology with patient case studies, students see real-life application of medical terminology.
Acquiring Medical Language by Steven L. Jones
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9781259638169

Publication Date: 2018-02-01

Emphasizes medical terminology as a language rather than terms to remember, accomplished through understanding how to break down medical language and having a basic knowledge of Greek and Latin roots to make medical language transparent.
Health Information Management Technology, 6e by Nanette Sayles
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT READING LIST-NORROD

ISBN: 9781584267201

Publication Date: 2020-03-31

"The sixth edition of Health Information Management Technology: An Applied Approach transforms and enhances the education and training for health information management (HIM) professionals. The content in this book supports the American Health Information Management Associations (AHIMA)current curricula competencies, and the chapters are mapped to AHIMAsRegistered Health Information Technology (RHIT)domains.
Medical Office Procedures by Nenna L. Bayes
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT Norrod

ISBN: 9780077862039

Publication Date: 2014-01-08

Thoroughly revised and updated, Medical Office Procedures is a text-workbook that introduces and describes the tasks of a medical office assistant's career; teaches records management, medical communications, and scheduling skills; and describes procedures for preparing patients' charts and bills.
Medical Terminology by Barbara Janson Cohen; Ann DePetris
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9781451187564

Publication Date: 2013-02-25

Medical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide, 7e by Barbara Janson Cohen uses a stepwise approach to learning medical terminology.
Medical Terminology Simplified by Barbara A. Gylys; Regina M. Masters
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9780803639713

Publication Date: 2014-03-24

Explore each body system unit through a summary of major combining forms, a comprehensive pathology section, and additional medical records and evaluations, complemented by true-to-life artwork.
Using Medical Terminology by Judi Lindsley Nath
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC MIT White

ISBN: 9781451115833

Publication Date: 2012-10-12

The approach used in Using Medical Terminology, 2e is to immerse you in the language, similar to how you'd learn a foreign language. Terms are learned in context, which helps to better understand and remember them.

On the shelf for checkout in L 113

Medical Terminology: a Short Course by Davi-Ellen Chabner
Call Number: R123 .C43 2015

ISBN: 9781455758302

Publication Date: 2014-10-14

Chabner omits time-consuming, nonessential information and helps you build a working medical vocabulary of the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots in the medical field. Medical terms are introduced in the context of human anatomy and physiology to help you understand exactly what they mean, and case studies, vignettes, and activities demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice.

Medical Information Technology: Library Resources

Welcome!