Research Guides: Film and T.V.: Library Resources

Resources in Library Databases - Search by "Title of Your Film in Quotes" AND "Film"

EBSCOhost Databases
Comprises most of our EBSCOhost collection for e-journal articles both scholarly and non-peer reviewed, newspapers articles, eBooks, and more. View “Searching” or “Advanced Search” to see all EBSCOhost database subscriptions and to limit which databases you want to search in.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

provided by KYVL
Pop Culture Studies (Gale)
This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Ebook Central
SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes thousands of ebooks from leading publishers like Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase)
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.
Fine Arts
This collection places millions of articles at the fingertips of of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database includes over 500 journals, with more than 400 available in full text.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
SKYCTC's electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference. Also searches our K-8 eBook collection. Academic titles are not discoverable in Library Search - doublecheck this database for eBooks on your topics.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from the University Press of Kentucky
The Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) has partnered with the University Press of Kentucky to make more than 1,300 titles freely available to KYVL member libraries, with a focus on the history and culture of Kentucky, the Ohio Valley region, the Upper South, and Appalachia. Browse the collection, then click the large Download button to access a title. DO NOT click Off-campus Download for UK only.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.

eBook Resources for Critiques

Routledge Encyclopedia of Films by Sabine Haenni (Editor); Sarah Barrow (Editor); John White (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415688932
Publication Date: 2014
This book comprises 200 essays by leading film scholars analyzing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting films of all time. Arranged alphabetically, each entry explores why each film is significant for those who study film and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the film was produced. Ranging from Hollywood classics to international bestsellers to lesser-known representations of national cinema, this collection is deliberately broad in scope crossing decades, boundaries and genres. The encyclopedia thus provides an introduction to the historical range and scope of cinema produced throughout the world.
A History of American Movies by Monaco
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)
ISBN: 9780810874336
Publication Date: 2010
Treats Hollywood--and the most significant movies that it has made--simultaneously as the coming together of an art, a craft, and a business.
American Film History by Lucia; Grundmann; Simon
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)
ISBN: 9781118475133
Publication Date: 2015
Explores the rich and innovative history of this period in American cinema.
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film by Tibbetts; Welsh
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)
ISBN: 9781438130071
Comprehensive, in-depth look at more than 300 American and foreign novels and their film adaptations.
Hollywood Film, 1963-1976 by Drew Casper
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)
ISBN: 9781405188272
Publication Date: 2011
This book chronicles the upheaval and innovation that took place in the American film industry during an era of pervasive cultural tumult. Exploring the many ideologies embraced by an increasingly diverse Hollywood, Casper offers a comprehensive canon, covering the period's classics as well as its brilliant but overlooked masterpieces. A broad overview and analysis of one of American film's most important and innovative periods Offers a new, more expansive take on the accepted canon of the era Includes films expressing ideologies contrary to the misremembered leftist slant Explores and fully contextualizes the dominant genres of the 60s and 70s.
Film and Television Analysis by Benshoff
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)
ISBN: 9781136473883
Publication Date: 2015
Methodologies covered include: ideological analysis auteur theory genre theory semiotics and structuralism psychoanalysis and apparatus theory feminism postmodernism cultural studies (including reception and audience studies) contemporary approaches to race, nation, gender, and sexuality.
If It's Purple, Someone's Gonna Die by Patti Bellantoni
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)
ISBN: 9780240806884
Publication Date: 2005
Guides filmmakers toward making the right color selections for their films, and helps movie buffs understand why they feel the way they do while watching movies that incorporate certain colors.

Resources on the Web

Library of Congress Film Registry
Descriptions and expanded essays for select titles by experts in film history.
American Film Institute 100 Greatest American Films of All Time
Artists, critics, and historians present the top American films. Details of directors, casts, and production.
Films from The Criterion Collection
Essays from The Criterion Collection on some of the best classic and contemporary films.

Visual & Performing Arts Library (VPAL) at WKU

Visual & Performing Arts Library (VPAL) at WKU
Includes over 10,000 titles in a film collection to support the film-studies program at WKU.

Use the WKU Courier or SKYCTC Courier Service

Need to borrow a book from another library or have a book delivered to another campus?

Use the courier service links below.

Fill out a WKU Courier Service request
We will deliver books, DVDs, videos, and audiobooks from WKU Libraries to Main Campus, Transpark, Glasgow Health, Glasgow Tech, & Franklin campuses for you to pick up!
Use the SKYCTC Courier Service
We will deliver books, DVDs, videos, and audiobooks from the SKYCTC Main Campus library to Transpark, Glasgow Health, Glasgow Tech, & Franklin campuses for you to pick up!

Get a Warren County Public Library Card

Warren County Public Library Card
For assistance at the Main Library, call (270) 781-4882.