Research Guides: Elections 2024: Voting, Candidates, &amp; Issues

2023 Kentucky Elections General Information

Electon Day is:

Tuesday, November 5th, 2024 from 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM local time (be in line no later than 6:00 PM in order to vote).

Go to:

GoVoteKY.com
Voter Information Guide from the Kentucky Secretary of State's office

Review Your Registration or Absentee Ballot Status
Find locations where you can vote early or on Election Day
Go to Sample Ballot - Select Your County - to see who is running that you can vote for
Use the following links to find Kentucky specific information about these candidates and issues they are running on:

Daily News Collection This link opens in a new window
Local newspaper for Bowling Green, KY and surrounding region. Search current and archived issues and online content. Full-text 1999-present, full-color newspaper images 2022-current.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Kentucky Newspaper Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to 78 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader. The Suggested Topics feature on the homepage can help select topics for essays, speeches and current events research. Coverage from 1989 to the present.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

WKYU FM Kentucky Politics Guide
Public Radio in Bowling Green, KY, Kentucky Politics guide.
WKYU-FM
The Public Radio Service of Western Kentucky University.
WBKO (ABC)
Local television network for Bowling Green, KY, search for candidates and election information.
WNKY (NBC)
Local television network for Bowling Green, KY. Search for candidate and election information.

Once you decide on your electoral preferences, review where to vote.

Electon Day is:

Tuesday, November 5th, 2023 from 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM local time (be in line no later than 6:00 PM in order to vote).

The deadline to register to vote in Kentucky was October 7, 2024 by 4:00 p.m. CST.

The deadline to request a mail-in absentee ballot was October 22, 2024 by 11:59 PM local time.

There are three ways for Kentucky voters to cast their ballot for the 2024 GENERAL Election:

1) Excused In-person Absentee Voting before Election Day, October 23, 24, 25 and October 28, 29, 30, 2024.
2) In-person No Excuse Absentee Voting before Election Day, October 31st - November 2nd, 2024.
3) In-person on Election Day, November 5th, 2024.

General Candidate and Ballot Measures Information

A Starting Point
Issues, key points from elected officials, point-counter point arguments, all in 2 minute videos. A Starting Point is a video-based civic engagement platform created by Chris Evans, Mark Kassen, and technology entrepreneur Joe Kiani. ASP’s mission is to create a bipartisan channel of communication and connectivity between Americans and their elected officials with the goal of creating a more informed electorate.
Ballotpedia
Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Their goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. Use this resource to learn more about candidates running for all offices and at all levels of government across the United States, as well as ballot referendums.
Ballot Ready
Originally launched by two University of Chicago students, Ballot Ready has grown to become a nationwide tool to help voters research how and where to vote, and help educate voters on the candidates and measures on their ballots before heading to the polls.
FactCheck.Org
A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
ISideWith
See which American political parties, candidates, and ballot initiatives match your beliefs based on the issues that are most important to you.
IssueVoter
Alerts you before Congressional votes, allows you to send your opinion directly to your representatives in Washington, D.C., and tracks your elected official's votes and bill outcomes.
PolitiFact
Launched in 2007 and now owned by the Poynter Institute for Media Studies, PolitiFact focuses on fact-checking journalism. Verifies statements from transcripts, speeches, news stories, press releases, and campaign brochures as well as reader-suggestions. Focuses on the primary source and original documentation of each statement before gauging the level of accuracy.
Vote Smart
Free, factual, unbiased information on candidates and elected officials. See politicians in your area, their voting records, positions on issues, ratings from various issue groups and associations, past speeches, sources of funding, and more.

Library Databases for Political Issues and Current Events

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Find contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Content includes viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presents key facts, arguments, history, and current context with primary sources, statistics, discussion questions, and articles from major newspapers to assist with argumentative assignments.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

ProCon
Provides the pros and cons of controversial issues shaping our society. Entries are supported with background information that delves into the issue, with pro and con arguments, verified facts and additional reading. From Credo Reference

Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes access to 78 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader. The Suggested Topics feature on the homepage can help select topics for essays, speeches and current events research. Coverage from 1980 to current.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Kentucky Newspaper Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to 78 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader. The Suggested Topics feature on the homepage can help select topics for essays, speeches and current events research. Coverage from 1989 to the present.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
World News Digest (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
World News Digest serves as an archival record of domestic and international news and covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.

Elections 2024

Voter Information

2023 Kentucky Elections General Information

General Candidate and Ballot Measures Information

Library Databases for Political Issues and Current Events