Research Guides: Education: Resources

Resources in SKYCTC Library Databases

ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of education literature and resources sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Find contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Content includes viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Learning Express Library
1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks for job skills; reading, writing, math, and science skills; and practice tests for career certification and licenses.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Ebook Central
SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes thousands of ebooks from leading publishers like Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.

JOURNAL: Teaching Young Children
Search within this journal from the National Association for the Education of Young Children
JOURNAL: Teaching Exceptional Children (1993 - Present)
Feature articles dealing with practical methods and materials for classroom use aimed at teachers of children with disabilities and children who are gifted; an official journal of the Council for Exceptional Children.

Britannica School Early Elementary
Britannica early elementary encyclopedia provides preK-2 students with images, video and short text.

University Press of Kentucky Education titles
KYVL has partnered with the University Press of Kentucky to make more than 1,300 titles in the collection freely available to KYVL members, including these books on Education.

Create a Resume in Learning Express Library - Watch the video below for a how-to guide!

Job & Career Accelerator
Includes powerful tools and expert guidance to help you through every step of the job search process from creating a resume and cover letter, to job searching, job applications, and preparing for an interview.
Off campus access is available at Kentucky Virtual Library.
Call the Learning Commons help desk at 270-901-1171 for current username & password.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

What does it take to be an elementary school teacher?
Career information and detailed job descriptions from the U.S. Department of Labor on O*Net.
What does it take to be a preschool teacher?
Detailed job description on O*Net.
What does it take to be a special education teacher?
Detailed job description on O*Net.

Area Libraries

WKU's One-Search Library Catalog
Warren County Public Library
For assistance at the Lisa Rice Library (formerly the Main Library), call (270) 781-4882, ext. 4.
WKU Courier Form

Area School Systems

Warren County Schools
Jobs, calendars, news, and school links.
Bowling Green City Schools
Departments, policies, schools, and more.
Simpson County Schools
Glasgow Independent Schools

Resources Online

Kentucky Department of Education
Official gateway site with quick links to multiple resources.
U.S. Department of Education Data Sets
Educational statistics from the U.S. government.
National Education Association
Professional organization committed to advancing the cause of public education at every level—from pre-school to university graduate programs.

Career Videos from CareerOneStop

Career One Stop Videos
Watch videos related to 550 occupations. Videos also available in Spanish.

SKYCTC Library Books

I Is for Inquiry by Bruce M. Shore; Mark Wesley Aulls; Diana Tabatabai; Juss Kaur Magon
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)
ISBN: 9781000493467
Publication Date: 2021-09-03
This colorful, illustrated alphabet book explores key ideas and skills in inquiry-based teaching and learning, such as collaboration, dialogue, evidence, hypothesis, and scaffolding.
Creating Positive Elementary Classrooms by Stephen W. Smith; Mitchell L. Yell
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)
ISBN: 9781538155639
Publication Date: 2022-01-15
Creating Positive Elementary Classrooms: Preventing Behavior Challenges to Promote Learning includes straightforward, feasible, and evidenced-based strategies designed to prevent behavior problems in K-5 classrooms.
Revolutionary Love by Kamania Wynter-Hoyt; Eliza Braden; Michele Myers; Sanjuana C. Rodriguez; Natasha Thornton
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks LC1099.3 .W96 2022
ISBN: 9781338828733
Publication Date: 2022-05-16
When educators place love at the center of their work, they change lives.
Learning in a New Language by Lori Helman
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)
ISBN: 9781416628682
Publication Date: 2020-01-22
Offers educational leaders a comprehensive and accessible guide to best practices for supporting students from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds in a school environment that embraces equity.
The Writing Strategies Book by Jennifer Serravallo
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks LB1576 .S343426 2017
ISBN: 9780325078229
Publication Date: 2017-01-27
Features 300 of the most effective strategies to share with writers, and grouping them beneath 10 crucial goals.
The Reading Strategies Book by Jennifer Serravallo
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks LB1050 .S45 2015
ISBN: 9780325074337
Publication Date: 2015-05-20
Collection of 300 strategies to share with readers in support of thirteen goals-everything from fluency to literary analysis. Each strategy is cross-linked to skills, genres, and Fountas & Pinnell reading levels to give you just-right teaching, just in time.
Differentiation and the Brain by David A. Sousa; Carol Ann Tomlinson
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks LB1031 .S65 2018
ISBN: 9781945349522
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Create truly effective, brain-friendly classrooms for all learners. The authors share an array of updated differentiated instruction examples, scenarios, and exercises, as well as the latest educational psychology research from cognitive psychology, neuroscience, and pedagogy.
Critical Approaches to Reading Writing and Thinking by Ric Baker; Vivian Beitman
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks PE1408 .B2823 2019
ISBN: 9781792425141
Publication Date: 2020-07-06
'Critical Approaches to Reading, Writing and Thinking' creates 'lifestyle' critical readers, writers and thinkers rather than just teaching the skills of critical reading, writing and thinking.
Educational Leadership, Culture, and Success in High-Need Schools by Elizabeth T. Murakami, David Gurr, and Ross Notman
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781641135030
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Exploration of the intersection of leadership practices from the school principal and other educators, the school culture, and the school success across different high-need contexts and cultures make this volume unique.
The Literacy Gaps by Ivannia Soto (Editor); June Hetzel (Editor)
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)
ISBN: 9781412975209
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
This book provides practical instructional suggestions for teachers of both ELLs and SELs that are informed by a deep understanding of theories of second language and second dialect acquisition and the development of reading and writing proficiencies.
The New Science of Learning by Todd D. Zakrajsek; John N. Gardner (Foreword by)
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)
ISBN: 9781642675023
Publication Date: 2022-08-02
This book introduces students to wholly new aspects of brain function and how they impact learning.
Mindset by Carol S. Dweck
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)
ISBN: 9780345472328
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
From the renowned psychologist who introduced the world to "growth mindset" comes this updated edition of the million-copy bestseller--featuring transformative insights into redefining success, building lifelong resilience, and supercharging self-improvement.
Spotlight on Young Children by Rossella Procopio (Editor); Holly Bohart (Editor)
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)
ISBN: 9781938113994
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Explore how teachers can use the opportunities embedded in their classroom practices, routines, and lessons to nurture healthy behaviors in children from birth through third grade.
Exploring Science with Dyslexic Children and Teens by Diana Hudson
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)
ISBN: 9781787753877
Publication Date: 2021-06-21
This book is a collection of ideas, activities and approaches for science learning, to support kids with learning differences aged 9+ to grow in confidence, recall and understanding.
Essential Guides for Early Career Teachers by Emma Hollis (Editor); Anita Devi
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)
ISBN: 9781913063290
Publication Date: 2020-10-23
Provides you with the required knowledge and skills development around special educational needs and disability (SEND) as you progress through your early teaching career.
Educating with Purpose: the Heart of What Matters by Tierney, Stephen
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)
ISBN: 9781913808587
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
Tierney argues that the purpose of education must move to the heart of the educational debate. Purpose will significantly influence what schools and the education system as a whole will do next.