Research Guides: Economics: Library Resources

E-Journals

These links will take you directly to online versions of specific business journals or newspapers.

Bloomberg Businessweek
A direct link to the electronic version. Click on a date on the right to browse that issue, or choose the "Search within this publication" link.

Business News

Try These Websites!

Young CPA Network
Premier American professional organization for accountants.
Microsoft Office Online Training and Help
Tips, tricks, training, and official support for using Microsoft Office.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Information about a variety of careers based on statistics from the US government.
Professional Associations for Business Students
Enhance your experience by joining a professional business association.
Better Business Bureau
Seeking to enhance marketplace trust through resources for businesses, consumers, and charities.
Morningstar Investment Research
A global company that pairs investors with financial research in over 600,000 different investments around the world.
Kentucky One Stop Business Portal
Kentucky state government online business resources.

Library Databases

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 2,300 journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. See MarketLine Company Profiles for company research papers.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection is useful for business startups, marketing, policy development, trend analysis, economic modeling, investing, rate research, and other topics in economics or business classes using its full-text journals to support their research.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Small Business Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
SKYCTC's electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference. Also searches our K-8 eBook collection. Academic titles are not discoverable in Library Search - doublecheck this database for eBooks on your topics.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Find Background Information

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Combines Encyclopdia Britannica and Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, plus magazines and periodicals, an atlas, biographies, e-books, and other tools.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

E-books

These are just a few examples of eBooks that can be found in our collection. Search for more by using keywords like marketing, management, leadership, and human resources in EBSCO eBook Collection.

The Complete New Manager by John H. Zenger
ISBN: 9780071751131
Publication Date: 2010
Being an effective leader. Motivating your employees. Dealing with difficult people. Planning and executing strategy.
A Class with Drucker by William A. Cohen
ISBN: 9780814409190
Publication Date: 2007-11-14
Ideas that Peter Drucker taught to his students but had never before published in 25 lessons that can be applied to everyday applications in today's business environment.
Elements of Influence by Terry R. Bacon
ISBN: 0814417329
Publication Date: 2011-07-15
Influencing effectively requires adaptability, perceptiveness, and insight into other people and cultures. Based on 20 years of research, Elements of Influence shows readers how to: * Understand why people allow themselves to be influenced - and why they resist * Choose the right approach for each situation * Be influential when theyhave no formal authority * Succeed in every kind of organization.
Now, Build a Great Business! by Mark Thompson; Brian Tracy; Frances Hesselbein (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0814416977
Publication Date: 2010-11-17
In this revolutionary book, bestselling business authority Mark Thompson and international success expert Brian Tracy join forces to show readers how great leadership, great people, and great products are the key to building a phenomenally successful business, inspiring customer loyalty--and experiencing tremendous growth.
Everything I Know about Marketing I Learned from Google by Aaron Goldman
ISBN: 0071742891
Publication Date: 2010-08-26
Want Market Share? Google It! Google is a once-in-a-generation company. Aaron Goldman has written an essential book that goes beyond telling us how Google became so important to explaining why the revolution it's leading will affect everyone in media and marketing.
The Essential Guide to Business Etiquette by Lillian Hunt Chaney; Jeanette S. Martin
ISBN: 0275997146
Publication Date: 2007-09-30
The Essential Guide to Business Etiquette features 14 chapters covering the most critical areas that can help people succeed in the climb up the corporate ladder. From the basics of getting off on the right foot during the job interview to handling office politics to dining etiquette, this book covers everything today's businessperson needs to know to navigate the tricky world of etiquette whether at home or abroad.
Sticky Marketing by Grant Leboff
ISBN: 0749460504
Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Grant Leboff highlights the seismic changes that are taking place in marketing. It provides a new marketing perspective that helps companies ensure their marketing is "sticky" -- attracting the right customers and building the right relationships for future business success.

Print Books

These books are available at the Main Library in Building L, Room 113. If you are unable to find the book you need at SKYCTC, use the WKU Courier Service to have a WKU Libraries book delivered to SKYCTC. If we have the book you are looking for, but you are at another SKYCTC Campus, use the SKYCTC Courier Service below.

Fill out a WKU Courier Service request
We will deliver books, DVDs, videos, and audiobooks from WKU Libraries to Main Campus, Transpark, Glasgow Health, Glasgow Tech, & Franklin campuses for you to pick up!
SKYCTC Courier Form
Need to borrow books, DVDs, videos, and audiobooks from the SKYCTC Main Campus library? We will deliver them to Transpark, Glasgow Health, Glasgow Tech, and Franklin campuses for you to pick up!

George Washington's Leadership Lessons by Rees; Spignesi
Call Number: HD57.7 .R436 2007
ISBN: 0470088877
Publication Date: 2007
This book reveals Washington's character, his leadership, his vision, and most surprising of all, his business skills and acumen. Most people aren't aware that Washington, while all of the above, was also a successful businessman and visionary entrepreneur.
Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap -- And Others Don't by Collins, James C.
Call Number: HD57.7 .C645 2001
ISBN: 9780066620992
Publication Date: 2001
The coauthor of the bestselling "Built to Last" now presents a blueprint for transforming good companies into great ones. Charts & graphs throughout.
Making Sense of Leadership: Exploring the Five Key Roles Used by Effective Leaders by Cameron, Esther, & Green, Mike
Call Number: HD57.7 C3537 2008
ISBN: 0749450398
Publication Date: 2008
Making Sense of Leadership identifies the five key roles used by effective leaders. A practical, accessible and solution-focused book, it helps entrepreneurs, managers and leaders develop their leadership skills.
Onward: How Starbucks Fought For Its Life Without Losings Its Soul Book and CD by Schultz, Howard, & Gordon, Joanne
Call Number: HD9199.U54 S737 2011
ISBN: 1605292885
Publication Date: 2011
Concerned that Starbucks had lost its way, Schultz was determined to help it return to its core values and restore not only its financial health, but also its soul. In Onward, he shares the remarkable story of his return and the company's ongoing transformation under his leadership, revealing how, during one of the most tumultuous economic times in history, Starbucks again achieved profitability and sustainability without sacrificing humanity.
Strategies for Business and Technical Writing by Harty, Kevin
Call Number: HF5721 .H37 2008
ISBN: 020556206X
Publication Date: 2008
Strategies for Business and Technical Writing teaches effective writing for the world of work and helps readers become better writers using specific techniques employed by successful communicators in their fields.
Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything Book and CD by Levitt, Steven D. & Dubner, Stephen J.
Call Number: HB74.P8 L479 2005
ISBN: 006073132x
Publication Date: 2005
Through forceful storytelling and wry insight, Levitt and co-author Stephen J. Dubner show that economics is, at root, the study of incentives -- how people get what they want, or need, especially when other people want or need the same thing.
Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different: A Biography by Blumenthal, Karen
Call Number: HD 9696.2 U62 J6326 2012
ISBN: 125001557X
Publication Date: 2012
Critically acclaimed author Karen Blumenthal takes us to the core of this complicated and legendary man while simultaneously exploring the evolution of computers. Framed by Jobs' inspirational Stanford commencement speech and illustrated throughout with black and white photos, this is the story of the man who changed our world.
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Call Number: QA76.2.J63 I83 2011
ISBN: 1451648537
Publication Date: 2011
Isaacson has written a riveting story of the roller-coaster life and searingly intense personality of a creative entrepreneur whose passion for perfection and ferocious drive revolutionized six industries: personal computers, animated movies, music, phones, tablet computing, and digital publishing.

Librarian / Associate Professor

Ryan Dowell

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119 - F

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services