Research Guides: Computerized Manufacturing &amp; Machining: Resources

Career Tools

Login with your campus username and password and create your own account. Check out the occupational practice exams, resume builder, and other tools.

Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve workplace skills.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

ACM Digital Library
A research, discovery and networking platform containing: Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books. A collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers. The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
Computerized Manufacturing & Machining
Provides information about the SKYCTC Computerized Manufacturing & Machining program.
Association for Manufacturing Technology
Association of Machinery and Equipment Appraisers (AMEA)
National Institute for Metalworking Skills (NIMS)
National Tooling and Machining Association (NTMA)
Precision Machined Products Association (PMPA)

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most library databases off campus.

Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Contains: Computer Weekly News and Machining Technology

Modern Machine Shop
A monthly trade magazine for the metalworking and machining industry. Provides information on all aspects including engineering, industrial robots, research and development, programming, safety, and equipment. Covers machining centers; cutting tools; grinding; turning; EDM; CAD/CAM; CNC/DNC; shop management; work holding and handling; quality; and die-mold, high-speed, production and aerospace machining.

Practical Autodesk AutoCAD 2021 and AutoCAD LT 2021 by Yasser Shoukry; Jaiprakash Pandey
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781789809152
Publication Date: 2020-05-15
This book is for design engineers, mechanical engineers, architects, and anyone working in construction, manufacturing, or similar fields. Whether you're an absolute beginner, student, or professional looking to upgrade your engineering design skills, you'll find this AutoCAD book useful. No prior knowledge of CAD or AutoCAD is necessary.
Hammer’s Blueprint Reading Basics by Charles Gillis and Warren Hammer
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780831194314
Publication Date: 12/18/2017
Warren Hammer’s Blueprint Reading Basics has been a bestselling classic for nearly two decades. In this historic revision, new author Charles Gillis has updated the entire package, replacing ALL figures with CAD-generated artwork, adding new illustrations, representing metric drawing practices alongside English, and including content from drawing standards such as Dimensioning and Tolerancing, Engineering Drawing Practices, Welding Symbols, Orthographic and Pictorial Views, Surface Texture, Undimensioned Drawings, and Types and Applications of Engineering Drawings, among others.
Modular Design for Machine Tools by Yoshimi Ito
ISBN: 9780071496605
Publication Date: 2008
Machine designers and toolmakers can turn to Modular Design for Machine Tools for a complete guide to designing and building machines using modular design methods.

Off Campus Access Guide
Use your SKYCTC username and password to access most library databases off campus. Visit our Off Campus Access guide for more help or call the Library Help Desk at (270) 901-1171.

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

CNC Programming Principles and Applications by Mike Mattson
Call Number: TJ1189 .M37 2002
ISBN: 0766818888
Publication Date: 2001
CNC Programming: Principles and Applications sets machinists and machine operators on a systematic path to mastering G- and M-code programming, guiding them from initial planning through programming of an actual NC machining job.

Occupational Health and Safety Magazine
Provide reliable techniques and exemplary applications to help assess and control worker risk and protect worker health while increasing productivity in the workplace and inform of significant events, standards, legislation, and trends that influence workplace safety and health.
Industry Week Magazine
Coverage of the U.S. manufacturing sector with a focus on tech, operations, leadership, supply chain & workforce development.
American Machinist
Product news, technology trends & best practices for metalworking professionals.
Machine Design
News, applications, in-depth technical information, new products, and vendor information engineers need and trust.
IQS Resource Center
Resource Center from Industrial Quick Search that contains short articles related to The Internet of Everything, Technology, Industry Information, and Industrial Marketing. Their Directory lists major manufacturers and suppliers serving.