Research Guides: Chemistry: Library Resources

Resources in Library Databases

PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public.
Digital Commons Network: Chemistry Commons
Multi-institutional digital repository of open access research and other materials in Chemistry.

Today's Science
Explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Students are provided with information in context, clearly explained and abundantly illustrated to see new advances from the scientific method that they are learning about in the classroom.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic OneFile
Full-text, scholarly articles in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts & humanities, and more. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times, 1995-present.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Ebook Central
SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes thousands of ebooks from leading publishers like Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
SKYCTC's electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference. Also searches our K-8 eBook collection. Academic titles are not discoverable in Library Search - doublecheck this database for eBooks on your topics.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Find Background Information

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Academic
Combines Encyclopdia Britannica and Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, plus magazines and periodicals, an atlas, biographies, e-books, and other tools.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase)
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

On Reserve - Available for 2-hour Checkout in the Learning Commons

Essentials of General, Organic, and Biochemistry by Denise Guinn
Call Number: SKYCTC CHE 130 FORSYTHE

ISBN: 9781319079444

Publication Date: 2018-12-28

Guinn’s Essentials of General, Organic and Biochemistry 3e uses health and medicine as the framework for learning the fundamentals of chemistry. Focusing on core concepts and necessary math skills, the easily digestible content and medical applications help reduce student anxiety and make chemistry meaningful for students preparing for future careers in nursing and other allied health professions.
Chemistry Atoms First 2e by Paul Flowers; Klaus Theopold; Richard Langley; Edward J. Neth; WIlliam R. Robinson
ISBN: 9781947172647

Publication Date: 2019-02-14

A peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association. The intention of "atoms-first" is to introduce atomic and molecular structure early and reinforce this and quantitative chemistry throughout later chapters. Centering on the atomic foundation later prepares students to expand in later courses on organic chemistry.
Chemistry by Karen C. Timberlake
Call Number: QD31.3 .T55 2012

ISBN: 9780321693457

Publication Date: 2010-12-27

Known for its friendly writing style and real-world, health-related applications, Timberlake's Chemistry: An Introduction to General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry was created specifically to help prepare you for a career in a health-related profession--such as nursing, dietetics, respiratory therapy, or environmental and agricultural science. It assumes no prior knowledge of chemistry, and makes your course an engaging and positive experience by relating the structure and behavior of matter to its role in health and the environment.

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Web Resources & Study Aids

PhET from the University of Colorado-Boulder
PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations. Select "Simulations" and "Chemistry" to access Chemistry resources.
Khan Academy - Chemistry
Chemistry is the study of matter and the changes it undergoes. Here you can browse chemistry videos, articles, and exercises by topic.
Crash Course - Chemistry
Short, engaging instructional videos about Chemistry
MIT Open Courseware - Chemistry
The Department of Chemistry at MIT is one of the nation's top chemistry departments. MIT Open Courseware makes materials used at MIT available on the Web.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, ACS is one of the world’s largest scientific organizations in the world, with a mission to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
ACS: Preparing a Research Report
Learn to prepare a comprehensive, well-documented and appropriately referenced written research report.
Royal Society of Chemistry
Founded 175 years ago for the general advancement of the chemical sciences. Scroll to Quick Links to find how-to videos and other study aids, research information, and career advice.
Royal Society of Chemistry's Periodic Table
Interactive periodic table of elements from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
OER: Chemistry
Open Access library of resources for Chemistry
MERLOT - Chemistry
MERLOT is a program of the California State University to support online learning and support materials. Included is a list of open access materials for Chemistry
LibreTexts: Chemistry
A multi-institutional collaboration of open access textbooks, covering books and other learning objects in Chemistry
LibreTexts: Chemistry - Reference Tables
From LibreTexts, these resources are vital for often used measurements, equations, and identification tables in Chemistry.
Openstax: Chemistry Textbook
Learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
CK-12: Chemistry
Digital learning resources for Chemistry.
Teach Yourself Chemistry Today from ThoughtCo.
Basic concepts of Chemistry presented in a logical order.
Chemtutor
Find a broad range of topics from very basic chemistry all the way through advanced organic chemistry topics.
Spark Notes: Chemistry
Get help to understand books, write papers, and study for tests in Chemistry.
Safety Data Sheet Search
OSHA requires chemical manufacturers, distributors, and consumers to provide Safety Data Sheets (SDS) to communicate hazards about chemical products. Chemical Safety provides a comprehensive library of SDSs offering detailed information about various chemical agents.
Ted Ed Periodic Videos
Educational YouTube video series on each of the elements of the periodic table.

Librarian / Associate Professor

Ryan Dowell

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119 - F

270-901-1171

Subjects: Library and Information Services