This book reflects on the unprecedented changes to our lives and the impact on our behavior as we lived through social isolation during the global COVID-19 pandemic. Packed with guidance and coping strategies for lockdown, this book explores the impact of this widespread quarantine on our relationships, our children, our mental health and our daily lives.
This is the first book to define and explore Black fatigue, the intergenerational impact of systemic racism on the physical and psychological health of Black people--and explain why and how society needs to collectively do more to combat its pernicious effects.
Digital Detox: Why Taking a Break from Technology Can Improve Your Well-Being explores both the dark side of technology's ever-present existence in today's world and what individuals can do to find better balance in their digital lives.
Woman Walk the Line is a very personal collection of essays from some of America's most intriguing women writers. It speaks to the ways in which artists mark our lives at different ages and in various states of grace and imperfection--and ultimately how music transforms not just the person making it, but also the listener.
A groundbreaking money management book that will set you on the path to financial peace with interactive journaling prompts to hold you accountable and keep you on track.
Merging classic rules of behavior with new realities of modern business, Excuse Me spotlights dozens of puzzling situations, with suggestions for bridging divides. The book untangles the nuances of: meeting etiquette, interview expectations, proper office attire, electronic manners, privacy in tight spaces, nonverbal cues, small talk, social media use, and much more.
This book is for design engineers, mechanical engineers, architects, and anyone working in construction, manufacturing, or similar fields. Whether you're an absolute beginner, student, or professional looking to upgrade your engineering design skills, you'll find this AutoCAD book useful. No prior knowledge of CAD or AutoCAD is necessary.
Bestselling author Mason compiles her prizewinning Nancy Culpepper chronicles into one definitive collection.
Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this full-color manual delivers all the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test.
This well-rounded resource combines an accessible portrait of transgenderism with a rich history of transgender life and its unique experiences of discrimination. This book is written for students, professionals, friends, and family members.
Beauty is a Verb is a ground-breaking anthology of disability poetry, essays on disability, and writings on the poetics of both.
Updated with the latest available research and the new 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines.
The essential guide to understanding how racism works and how racial inequality shapes black lives, ultimately offering a road-map for resistance for racial justice advocates and antiracists.
Winner of both the Hugo and Nebula Awards, the powerful, classic story about a man who receives an operation that turns him into a genius...and introduces him to heartache.
Polish up that old resume--and land your dream job.
The Earth is currently experiencing an extinction crisis due to the exploitation of the planet by humans. How can humankind better protect the planet's biodiversity, including wildlife and their habitats, to prevent more species from becoming extinct?
The first comprehensive volume to integrate social-scientific literature on the origins and manifestations of prejudice against disabled people.
Brand yourself like a pro on LinkedIn.
The haunting and profoundly moving story of an American World War II pilot shot down in Occupied Europe, and his wrenching odyssey of discovery, decades later, as he uncovers the truth about those who helped him escape in 1944.
The Vaccine Debate provides a straightforward introduction to the interaction between vaccines and the immune system. The book documents the rise of the anti-vaccination movement, provides reasons for its prominence today, and explains the effects of vaccine refusal on public health. It also addresses concerns about the role of government in regulating vaccine production and administration, along with questions about vaccine safety.
The Only Good Indians is a novel that is equal parts psychological horror and cutting social commentary on identity politics and the American Indian experience.
Become a process improvement star with Lean Six Sigma!
Warren Hammer’s Blueprint Reading Basics has been a bestselling classic for nearly two decades. In this historic revision, new author Charles Gillis has updated the entire package, replacing ALL figures with CAD-generated artwork, adding new illustrations, representing metric drawing practices alongside English, and including content from drawing standards such as Dimensioning and Tolerancing, Engineering Drawing Practices, Welding Symbols, Orthographic and Pictorial Views, Surface Texture, Undimensioned Drawings, and Types and Applications of Engineering Drawings, among others.
A riveting, deeply personal account of history in the making--from the president who inspired us to believe in the power of democracy.
What happens when media and politics become forms of entertainment? As our world begins to look more and more like Orwell's 1984, Neil's Postman's essential guide to the modern media is more relevant than ever.
A collection sharing stories of success, happiness, and inspiration from the LGBTQ+ community.
This concise and instructive guide outlines the specific challenges faced by the Latinx population in US health care.
A majestic, polyphonic novel about a community’s efforts to halt the proposed displacement and elimination of several Native American tribes in the 1950s, rendered with dexterity and imagination. Winner of the 2021 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.
Expanded and updated, the third edition of Yoga Anatomy will provide you with an even deeper understanding of yoga and of the structures and principles underlying each movement.
This title examines the unspoken caste system that has shaped America and shows how our lives today are still defined by a hierarchy of human divisions.
The secret to outstanding achievement is not talent, but a special blend of passion and persistence the author calls "grit."
A comprehensive training guide on how to improve test scores, these lessons avoid memorization and answering strategies and instead address the test-taker individually to determine what he or she needs personally to perform well at test time.
Everyone knows that timing is everything. In When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing, Pink shows that timing is really a science.
This ultimate "insider's guide" to college life helps entering freshmen navigate the challenging transition to college life.
In late August 1619, a ship arrived in the British colony of Virginia bearing a cargo of twenty to thirty enslaved people from Africa. Their arrival led to the barbaric and unprecedented system of American chattel slavery that would last for the next 250 years.
Highlights key ideas, transformative moments, and feminist conversations across national and cultural borders.
Cheryl R. Hopson’s poetry shows the influence of years of reading, living, thinking through and imagining what it means to be a girl and woman, a person of color, a Southerner, a feminist scholar of working-class origins, and a poet.
Minor Feelings: an Asian American Reckoning is a memoir that critically examines Asian American identity.
The Murmur of Bees is a Mexican fiction novel (the author's first to be translated in English) about a mysterious child with the power to change a family's history in a country on the verge of revolution.
No matter how busy you are, find quiet reflective moments in your life--and reduce your stress levels drastically--with this classic bestselling guide from a mindfulness expert.
A stunning new volume from the first Native American Poet Laureate of the United States, informed by her tribal history and connection to the land.
In an easy-to-read format that includes questions and short responses, Gender: What Everyone Needs to Know guides the reader through basic definitions; the history of gender as a concept; the role of biology, psychology, and culture on gender; and gender norms over time and across the globe.
Amanda Gorman's historic poem "The Hill We Climb," read at President Joe Biden's inauguration, is a remarkable keepsake that celebrates the promise of America and affirms the power of poetry.
Learning requires focus. But, unlearning and relearning requires much more--it requires choosing courage over comfort.
A young Native American, Abel has come home from war to find himself caught between two worlds.
A lyrical exploration of love and loss, The Birds of Opulence centers on several generations of women in a bucolic southern black township as they live with and sometimes surrender to madness.
This collection of comforting and encouraging stories provides support in your time of need. Find inspiration in stories about coping with loss, regaining your strength, appreciating life, and finding new joy.
This book offers yoga for everyone- big, small, elderly, pregnant, disabled-everyone. You can do all 50 poses and perform all 16 sequences for one singular experience that focuses on specific physical and mental issues.
Beginning with Disability is the first introductory primer for disability studies aimed at first year students in two and four year colleges. This volume of essays across disciplines features accessible, readable, and relatively short chapters that do not require specialized knowledge. Contains compilation of a number of blogs, vlogs, and other videos to make the materials relatable and vivid to students. "Subject to Debate" boxes spotlight short pro and con pieces on controversial subjects that can be debated in class or act as prompts for assignments.
In-depth interviews with sixteen of the state's premiere wordsmiths. This new volume offers the perspectives of poets, journalists, and scholars as they discuss their views on creativity, the teaching of writing, and the importance of Kentucky in their work.
In this book, the author illuminates the link between human habits and our imperiled planet. Story of More is the essential pocket primer on climate change that will leave an indelible impact on everyone who reads it.
Kuklin met and interviewed six transgender or gender-neutral young adults and used her considerable skills to represent them during, and after their personal acknowledgment of gender identity.
The story of how one family fought their problems at home by taking global action and how Greta decided to go on strike from school, igniting a worldwide rebellion.