Research Guides: Biology: Library Resources

Resources in Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for full-text articles, books and eBooks, and videos in library databases.

Today's Science

Explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Students are provided with information in context, clearly explained and abundantly illustrated to see new advances from the scientific method that they are learning about in the classroom.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic OneFile

Full-text, scholarly articles in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts & humanities, and more. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times, 1995-present.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.
Ebook Central

SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes thousands of ebooks from leading publishers like Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection

SKYCTC's electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference. Also searches our K-8 eBook collection. Academic titles are not discoverable in Library Search - doublecheck this database for eBooks on your topics.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Online Study Resources

Khan Academy - Biology
Practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
Dimensions Magazine Articles from the Association of Science-Technology Centers
ASTC’s bimonthly magazine offers in-depth analysis on current issues, along with news briefs from ASTC and member museums and other resources.
American Biology Teacher Articles from National Association of Biology Teachers
The American Biology Teacher is published nine times a year by the National Association of Biology Teachers. Each issue is selected to be freely available to all interested readers.
CELLS Alive! from Jim Sullivan
Film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research.
Crash Course - Biology
Short, engaging instructional videos about Biology
Crash Course - Ecology
Short, engaging instructional videos about Ecology

Academic Biology Journals

Scientific American
Authoritative articles on all sciences by scientists who do the research reported. Edited for the interested layman. Features science and the citizen, computer reactions, the amateur scientists, reviews of current books in science and bibliographies.
Browse by year, issue number, and articles, or search within this publication.
Nature
Original research articles & letters, review articles, news of science in universities, industry & government, correspondence and opinion pieces. 06/05/1997 to 2021. Browse by year, issue, and article, or "Search Within Publication".

Find Background Information

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Academic
Combines Encyclopdia Britannica and Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, plus magazines and periodicals, an atlas, biographies, e-books, and other tools.
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an e-reference database with hundreds of encyclopedia, topical dictionary, and handbook titles. Use Credo to start your research by gathering background information, finding key terms and concepts, and then connecting to scholarly articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase)
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

Reference Resources

Biology Topic Page from Credo Reference
Links to background information and overview articles for various topics in biology.

Biological Sciences, Revised Edition: Notable Research and Discoveries by Kirkland, Kyle
Call Number: Available through Infobase Master Academic eBook Collection

ISBN: 9781438195919

Publication Date: 2020

Covers a wide range of topics in biology such as neurology, genetics, and virology, based on academic journals and reports.
Collins Dictionary of Biology by Hale, W. G., Saunders Venetia A., Margham, J. P.
Call Number: Available through Credo Reference

ISBN: 9780007207343

Publication Date: 2005

Covers all the major fields within the science, including anatomy, biochemistry, ecology, evolutionary theory, genetics, molecular biology, physiology and taxonomy.
Encyclopedia of Life Science, Revised Edition by Cullin, Kathleen
Call Number: Available through Infobase Master Academic eBook Collection

ISBN: 9781438195964

Publication Date: 2020

More than 200 entries covering topics like the cell, molecular basis for heredity, biological evolution, interdependence of organisms, matter, energy, and organization in living systems, and organism behavior, this edition is based on the National Science Education Standards and complements introductory college biology coursework.
The Princeton Guide to Evolution by Jonathan B. Losos (Editor-In-Chief); David A. Baum (Editor); Douglas J. Futuyma (Editor); Hopi E. Hoekstra (Editor); Richard E. Lenski (Editor); Allen J. Moore (Editor); Catherine L. Peichel (Editor); Dolph Schluter (Editor); Michael C. Whitlock (Editor)
Call Number: Available through Credo Reference

ISBN: 9780691149776

Publication Date: 2013-12-01

The Princeton Guide to Evolution is a comprehensive, concise, and authoritative reference to the major subjects and key concepts in evolutionary biology, from genes to mass extinctions.

Resources in the SKYCTC Learning Commons

Anatomy & Physiology Students:

We have anatomical models to help you study!

Human torso model

Life-size human skeleton

Miniature human muscular figure

Human respiratory system model

Disarticulated skeleton

Human brain model

You can book our study room to work in groups!

2-hour reserves available at the Learning Commons L 113 Help Desk.

Biology: Concepts and Investigations by Mariëlle Hoefnagels
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC BIO 112/113-RICHARDSON

ISBN: 9781260259049

Publication Date: 2020-02-01

Textbook for BIO 112
Introductory Biology Lab Manual by Caplan, Kobella, Perkins, Gish, Muontjoy, & Crumbley
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC BIO112/113-Richardson

Publication Date: 2018

Created by Owensboro Community & Technical College, the lab manual for BIO 113.
Campbell Essential Biology by Eric J. Simon; Jane B. Reece; Jean L. Dickey
Call Number: ON Reserves BIO 112/113-Richardson, QH308.2 .C343 2013

ISBN: 0321772598

Publication Date: 2012-02-09
Anatomy and Physiology by Kenneth S. Saladin
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC BIO 137-9-TACKETT

ISBN: 9781265328627

Publication Date: 2023-01-01

Anatomy & Physiology: The Unity of Form and Function tells a story comprised of many layers, including core science, clinical applications, the history of medicine, and the evolution of the human body. Saladin combines this humanistic perspective on anatomy and physiology with vibrant photos and art to convey the beauty and excitement of the subject to beginning students.
Microbiology : A Systems Approach by M. Kelly Cowan; Heidi Smith
Call Number: On Reserve SKYCTC BIO 225 Tackett

ISBN: 9781260258998

Publication Date: 2020-01-01

The sixth edition will help students understand the key concepts of microbiology.
Talaro's Foundations in Microbiology by Barry Chess
Call Number: Reserves SKYCTC BIO 225 TACKETT

ISBN: 9781260451344

Publication Date: 2020-01-13

Foundations in Microbiology is an allied health microbiology text with a taxonomic approach to the disease chapters. It offers an engaging and accessible writing style through the use of case studies and analogies to thoroughly explain difficult microbiology concepts.
Your Inner Fish by Shubin
Call Number: On Reserve, DVD available BIO 112/113-Richardson, QM26 .Y68 2014

ISBN: 9781608830671

Uncovers the answers in this new look at human evolution. Using fossils, embryos and genes, he reveals how our bodies are the legacy of ancient fish, reptiles and primates — the ancestors you never knew were in your family tree.
Green fire : Aldo Leopold & a land ethic for our time by directed by Ann Dunsky, Steve Dunsky, Dave Steinke ; writer, Stephen Most
Call Number: On Reserves BIO 112/113-Richardson, QH31.L618 G744 2011

ISBN: 9781941545317

Publication Date: 2011

Explores the life and legacy of famed conservationist Aldo Leopold and the many ways his land ethic philosophy lives on in the work of individuals and organizations around the country today.
Mosby's Medical Terminology Flash Cards by Mosby
Call Number: On Reserve R 123 .M673 2021

ISBN: 9780323762892

Publication Date: 2021-11-09

This set of 675 colorful flash cards makes it fun and easy to master the language of health care! Mosby's Medical Terminology Flash Cards, 5th Edition helps you memorize the prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms used to build medical terms.

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Librarian / Associate Professor

Ryan Dowell

Email Me

Contact:

Main Campus - Learning Commons
Building L, Office 119 - F

270-901-1171

Subjects: FYE, Library and Information Services