Research Guides: Anthropology: Library Resources

On the Reference Shelf in L-113

The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Hilary Callan
Call Number: GN11 .I68 2018
ISBN: 0470657227
Publication Date: 2018-08-20
The most complete reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas. Key topics include: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education, kinship, politics, and power, as well as biographical entries of many of the world's most influential founding anthropologists.

Find Background Information: E-Reference Sources

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Online: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, e-books, news, multimedia, an interactive world atlas, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database. With hundreds of digital reference titles from over 100 publishers, this database offers a user-friendly interface to access curated, authoritative reference sources, providing users with a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Credo helps users gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and even connect to e-journals in the library databases to access more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

CULTURE: CIA World Fact Book
History, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities

eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for almost ten thousand journals, most of which are peer-reviewed titles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text academic articles in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Diversity Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection includes hundreds of journal titles exploring cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains over a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Gender Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Religion and Philosophy (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Discover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from the University Press of Kentucky This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
KYVL has partnered with the University Press of Kentucky to make more than 1,300 titles in the collection freely available to KYVL members. This collection includes topics ranging from architecture to business, education to law, Arts & Humanities and studies in Romance languages to social & behavioral sciences and STEM fields.

Find Library Resources

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Websites

African Archaeology
The African-Archaeology.Net web site has developed from the "Anthropology Resources on the Internet" (ARI) directory specialising in Anthropology.
American Anthropological Association (AAA) Style Guide
Citation resource if your professor requests American Anthropological Association citation style rather than APA. See above tab for APA citation style.
Anthropology and Archaeology Careers (Advice from Northern Kentucky University)
Career advice for anthropology students - from NKU.
Archaeology Data Service [digital archives links]
The ADS is an accredited digital repository for heritage data in the United Kingdom.
National Congress of American Indians
The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
National Park Service Cultural Resources
The National Park Service is one of the United States' leading agencies for history and culture. In addition to preserving important historic sites within national park boundaries, the National Park Service works beyond those boundaries to ensure that everyone's history is saved.
Native American Ethnobotany Database
A database of plants used as drugs, foods, dyes, fibers, and more, by native Peoples of North America.
Native American Materials In Law and Genealogy at the Western Kentucky University Libraries
Curated guide to Native American resources at WKU, c. 2006.
Oklahoma Native American Tribes
ODL has gathered these resources to present information on tribal government and other sites related to the rich history of the Oklahoma Native American tribes for those interested in the geographic origins of the tribes who were removed to Oklahoma.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
See portal for Anthropology under "Social Scienes" menu or Articles by Topic for Anthropology under "Biological Sciences" menu.
World Oral Literature Project
An urgent global initiative to document and make accessible endangered oral literatures before they disappear without record. Sponsored by the University of Cambridge and Yale University.

Associations

Off Campus?

Use your KCTCS email ID and password to access databases off campus.

If you are unable to login, try using Kentucky Virtual Library.

Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) Databases
Many of our databases are accessible using KYVL. SKYCTC students and employees can request the username and password for KYVL databases, which is different than your KCTCS login. To request the KYVL username and password, use the following link: https://password.kyvl.org/PasswordRequest.aspx, or contact the SKYCTC Help Desk (270-901-1171).

Still having trouble?

Off Campus Access Guide
Use your SKYCTC username and password to access most library databases off campus. Visit our Off Campus Access guide for more help or call the Library Help Desk at (270) 901-1171.