Research Guides: IRW100 (Integrated Reading &amp; Writing): Library Resources

Reading Skills: College Center Reading Practice from Learning Express

College Students (Learning Express Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Need to strengthen your fundamental academic skills in math, writing, science, and reading? Check out the College Students for tutorials, practice, and eBooks. Use your KCTCS username & password to access from home.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Reading Skills: Reading Power

Digital Services Library Card from Warren County Public Library
Patrons interested in only digital services (eBooks, audiobooks, magazines, music, movies and TV) may request a digital services library card by filling out the form. Cards take around a week to process. If you need more immediate assistance, you can contact the Main Library by phone at 270-781-4882..
GoodReads
What is everyone reading and why? Fiction and nonfiction recommended reads and book lists.

Reading Skills: Fun and Games

Vocabulary Game from Free Rice
A fun online vocabulary game that donates food to children in need.
Vocabularly.com
Improve your vocabulary with a tutorial that adapts to you.
VisuWords
An online graphic dictionary that shows you the relationship between words.

Reading Skills: Understanding Textbooks

Watch this short video about strategies to improve your reading comprehension for college textbooks.

YouTube Videos about reading textbooks
More help for building reading comprehension for academic texts.

Reading Skills: Improve Your Vocabulary with Articles from Library Databases

Articles from encyclopedias and dictionaries usually focus on one topic. Library databases allow you to listen and read the article at the same time. Full-text articles are available to read online, email, or print for highlighting and taking notes. To search for articles in Credo Reference and Britannica Online, click on the links below.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database. With hundreds of digital reference titles from over 100 publishers, this database offers a user-friendly interface to access curated, authoritative reference sources, providing users with a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Credo helps users gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and even connect to e-journals in the library databases to access more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Britannica Online: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, e-books, news, multimedia, an interactive world atlas, and more.

Reading Skills: Improve Your Vocabulary with Ebooks from Library Databases

Ebooks are digital books you can read on your computer screen or mobile device. They have content pages and sections just like physical books, but you can also search inside the book for a specific word. Print or download some pages for highlighting and taking notes. To search for eBooks in the Ebook Central or Master Academic eBook databases, click on the links below.

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes 56,000+ ebooks from leading publishers including unique titles from Wiley, 130 university presses, and more. Collections cover subjects such as: biology, business management, computer science/IT, education, engineering & manufacturing, history, literature, nursing and other health-related fields, physical sciences, psychology, religious studies and sociology.
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

Watch this short video about how to search in Ebook Central.