Research Guides: Literature: Library Resources

eBooks - Use SKYCTC Login

Classical Literature by Croally and Hyde
ISBN: 0415468132
Publication Date: 2011
Ranges from Homer to the writers of the later Roman Empire, and includes a glossary, a chronology of literary and political events, and maps showing the origins of ancient writers.
How Literature Works by John Sutherland
ISBN: 0199794200
Offers concise definitions and clear examples of 50 terms and concepts.
Multicultural Literature and Response by Lynn Atkinson Smolen; Ruth A. Oswald
ISBN: 1598844741
Publication Date: 2011
Multicultural authors and illustrators who portrays U.S. ethnic and cultural groups.

Resources on the Shelf in SKYCTC Library

Critical Survey of Long Fiction Series by Rollyson; Rollyson
Call Number: PN3451 .C75 2010 REFERENCE
ISBN: 1587655357
Critical Survey of Short Fiction Series by Magill; May; Moose
Call Number: PN3321 .C7 2001 REFERENCE
ISBN: 0893560065

DVDs to Check out from the Library on the Main Campus

Resources on the Web

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 36,000 free ebooks to download. Compatible with: PC, Kindle, Android, iOS or other portable devices. See how to use mobile devices with Project Gutenberg at the link below.
Biography
American Memory Literature (Library of Congress)
Literary History

Off Campus?

Use your KCTCS email ID and password to access databases off campus.

If you are unable to login, try using Kentucky Virtual Library.

Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) Databases
Many of our databases are accessible using KYVL. SKYCTC students and employees can request the username and password for KYVL databases, which is different than your KCTCS login. To request the KYVL username and password, use the following link: https://password.kyvl.org/PasswordRequest.aspx, or contact the SKYCTC Help Desk (270-901-1171).

Still having trouble?

Off Campus Access Guide
Use your SKYCTC username and password to access most library databases off campus. Visit our Off Campus Access guide for more help or call the Library Help Desk at (270) 901-1171.

Resources in Library Databases

Note: Use your KCTCS username and password to log into most databases off campus. Some databases may only be available from a SKYCTC campus computer.

eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic book collection, including fiction, nonfiction, and reference.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from the University Press of Kentucky This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
KYVL has partnered with the University Press of Kentucky to make more than 1,300 titles in the collection freely available to KYVL members. This collection includes topics ranging from architecture to business, education to law, Arts & Humanities and studies in Romance languages to social & behavioral sciences and STEM fields.

Literature Articles from Credo Reference
Links to articles and definitions.

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises most of our EBSCOhost collection for e-journal articles both scholarly and non-peer reviewed, newspapers articles, eBooks, and more.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
provided by KYVL
Diversity Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection includes hundreds of journal titles exploring cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Fine Arts (Gale) This link opens in a new window
NoveList (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books by reading level or genre! NoveList provides lists of awards winning books, read-alikes, and books made into movies as well as book discussion guides and lists of books by curricular topic.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Career and Technical Education: Literature and Language (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive source for vocational information focused on literature and language.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic Video Online (AVON) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 62,000 titles on a range of subject areas from anthropology to business, counseling to health, and more. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations.

Find Background Information

Why is background information important?

Provides an overview of an unfamiliar topic.
Give you basic information about a topic like definitions & summaries.
Helps you broaden or narrow your search.

Reference materials, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great sources of background information.

Britannica Online: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, e-books, news, multimedia, an interactive world atlas, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an e-reference database. With hundreds of digital reference titles from over 100 publishers, this database offers a user-friendly interface to access curated, authoritative reference sources, providing users with a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Credo helps users gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and even connect to e-journals in the library databases to access more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
eBooks from Master Academic eBook Collection (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.

I'm beginning my research.

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

Use the WKU Courier or SKYCTC Courier Service

Need to borrow a book from another library or have a book delivered to another campus?

Use the courier service links below.

Fill out a WKU Courier Service request
We will deliver books, DVDs, videos, and audiobooks from WKU Libraries to Main Campus, Transpark, Glasgow Health, Glasgow Tech, & Franklin campuses for you to pick up!

Literature: Library Resources

Welcome!