Learning Commons News & Events

National Poetry Month April 2025 poster, "This is the world I want to live in. The shared world."

National Poetry Month 2025

03/28/2025

0 Comments

April is National Poetry Month and SKYCTC Learning Commons wants to help you enjoy poetry!

See selected poems chosen by our librarians and tutors on our Staff Picks page! We have also included some library resources and websites to help you find poems you will love as well!

Check out the Poetry Foundation’s recommendations for poetry podcasts!

Select a poem to read here from the Academy of American Poets!

Read a poem written by Silas House, KY Poet Laureate here!

Have fun creating your own poem with magnetic poetry in the SKYCTC Learning Commons or online here!

If you have questions or would like to schedule an appointment with a Librarian or Tutor, please use our online Ask! Page. 

English, Reading, Writing

Learning Commons Black History Month Display

Find books and more with Library Search

02/21/2025

0 Comments

Did you know the SKYCTC Learning Commons has over 5,000 print books and 1,000 DVDs in our collection for students to check out? Check out our physical collection in Building L, Room 113, including our staff picks for Black History Month on display! We will also be showcasing our display in the Social Staircase lobby in Building L on Wednesday, February 26th between 10 AM – 1 PM to celebrate Black History Month. Swing by and check out a book!

Library Search tool interface

Do you need to find books or other library resources for school? Use our Library Search tool to find books, articles, and videos in our library collection and databases. Library Search works best when you want to find a lot of different types of information on a topic or when you are starting your research. You can watch our video tutorial on Library Search and if you need assistance, visit our Ask! Page to request assistance from a librarian!

American History, Reading, Diversity, Creative Writing, Arts & Humanities

Subjects

Diversity

American History

History

Film

Reading

Creative Writing

Arts & Humanities

Literature

American Government

Library and Information Services

By Month

May 2025

April 2025

March 2025

February 2025

Recent Posts

Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month, and the Learning Commons reminds you to prioritize your mental health by utilizing resources in the LC and beyond. You can start by: Browsing our Wellness Guide to find resources that promote how to nurture and maintain good mental health. Familiarizing yourself with national hotline numbers designed to connect individuals with assistance. Many of these resources offer call, text, or online chat support.Others include:Call BlackLine 1-800-604-5841: provides a space for peer support, counseling, and reporting of mistreatment for those impacted by systemic oppression—BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color), LGBTQ+, and people with disabilities.Caregiver Help Desk 855-227-3640: offers free support to family caregivers, staffed by experts, who can help support you on your caregiving journey. Exhale Pro-Voice 617-749-2948: offers nonjudgmental after-abortion support and counseling. Farm-Aid Hotline 1-800-327-6243: offers mental health support and resources assistance to farmers and those in the agricultural industry.Naseeha 1-866-627-3342: specifically designed to address the unique mental health challenges faced by Muslims (non-Muslims are welcome to call).Reading New York Times Bestseller The Body Keeps the Score. This book teaches readers about the physical and emotional effects of trauma and how to reclaim their well-being. Signing up for free online therapy sessions through BetterMynd. SKYCTC has partnered with BetterMynd to provide students with free 50-minute online therapy sessions with licensed mental health professionals. These confidential sessions can take place from your phone, laptop, or tablet. Teletherapy sessions are available during the day, at night, and on weekends, so you can get support whenever it's best for you. Students start with 4 free sessions and can email skyctc-bettermynds@kctcs.edu for more session credits. How Do I Register for BetterMynd?Start here and click “sign up” in the top right corner.Sign up using your KCTCS email.Open your email from BetterMynd and click “Link to email address verification.Choose “Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College” as your campus.Accept the terms and conditions.Answer the questionnaire to help match you with a counselor.You will be asked to answer some potentially sensitive questions, but your answers will be kept confidential. Select a counselor from the ones you matched with or look through all of the counselors to find the best fit for you.Schedule a virtual session for a time that works for you. ...

Summer Hobby via Ancestry.com

Are you looking for a new hobby to sustain you through the lazy, hazy days of summer? Have you found yourself interested in learning about your family’s story? Would you like to know the origins of your last name? Or if a relative served in a major war? Have you wondered if photos of your great-grandparents exist? If so, the Learning Commons has great news to share! Thanks to the Kentucky Virtual Library, SKYCTC Learning Commons is offering our campus community free access to Ancestry.com, the world’s most popular online genealogy resource that gives you the ability to look through census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and other places around the world. To access Ancestry.com through our KYVL partnership, visit the SKYCTC Learning Commons home page. Once there, scroll down to select “Databases.” From there, search under the letter “A” for “Ancestry Library Edition.” If you need assistance navigating our databases, please reach out to a librarian using our Ask! page. ...

Learning Commons Summer 2025 Hours

Summer Hours Starting May 12th, 2025 at the Learning Commons:Monday - Thursday: 7:00am - 5:00pmFriday: CLOSED Holiday Weeks Exceptions:CLOSED Monday, May 26th, 2025 (Memorial Day)CLOSED Thursday, June 19th, 2025 (Juneteenth)During those weeks, the Learning Commons hours will shift to:Monday – Friday 7:30am – 4:00pmFridays During Holiday Weeks: Virtual Services ONLY...

Start on your summer reading with Kentucky Libraries!

Thinking about some summer reading options with the end of the semester in sight? Are you about to graduate and interested in free library resources you enjoyed at SKYCTC? Kentucky libraries are here to support you! The Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) supports many of SKYCTC’s databases and those of over 300 libraries across the Commonwealth. Visit KYVL.org and see what new or familiar resources you find, like EBSCOhost’s Academic Search Complete, Gale’s Opposing Viewpoints, or Ancestry.com! Reach out to your public library for login information. Your local public library, including the Warren County Public Library provides access to KYVL and other databases, as well as books, eBooks, magazines, movies, music, and more! If you haven’t already, get a library card (it’s free!) and see what Kentucky Libraries can do for you! If you are taking classes at SKYCTC over the summer or this fall, stay posted! We will be blogging about the SKYCTC Learning Commons throughout the summer! ...