Learning Commons News & Events

The Learning Commons Celebrates Pride Month!

06/03/2025

Macy Kitchens

June is Pride Month. We invite you to explore our curated LGBTQIA+ resources. Whether you’re looking for queer literature, LGBTQIA+ history, or resources to better understand gender and sexuality, our collection has something for everyone.

Explore our Diversity Guide for resources for the queer community and featured LGBTQIA+ books.
Read Stonewall Riots: The Fight for LGBT Rights. Pride month is also the anniversary of the 1969 Stonewall Uprising, which was a turning point for LGBTQIA+ rights.
Check out our Pride Month Documentary Playlist to learn more about the history and experiences of the LGBTQIA+ community. These documentaries are free to watch for all SKYCTC students.
Visit the Learning Commons library to see a curated display of nonfiction books, fiction, and movies about and made by the queer community.

No Subjects

Subjects

Academic Success

Accounting

American Government

American History

Arts & Humanities

Book Club

Campus Community

Communication

Creative Writing

Diversity

Recent Posts

News Resources from the SKYCTC Learning Commons!

Access articles from local, national, and international newspapers through these newspaper databases: Bowling Green Daily News: See the current full-color newspaper online (2022 – present) or full-text articles (1999 – present)! Washington Post: Free access to news website, covering local Washington, D.C., national, and international news (1983 – present) Kentucky Newspaper Collection: Includes access to 96 Kentucky media publications and newspapers, including the Bowling Green Daily News, the Lexington Herald-Leader with coverage from 1983 to the present. Newsbank Access World News: Provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Newspaper Source (EBSCO): Provides cover-to-cover full text for dozens of U.S. & international newspapers and also contains selective full text for hundreds of regional (U.S.) newspapers. World News Digest (Infobase): Contains domestic and international news and covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940 to the present. Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest): Hundreds of respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals, providing unique, independent alternatives to mainstream media perspectives. Stay informed about the world around you and check out our newspaper collections at the SKYCTC Learning Commons! If you need help accessing these news sources, visit our Ask! page. ...

Feeling stressed about Finals? Don’t worry – the Learning Commons has you covered! Join us for a Study Break from Monday, December 8th, to Friday, December 12th.

Join us for a Study Break from Monday, December 8th, to Friday, December 12th. We’ll have activities and support to help you de-stress, stay focused, and succeed on your finals....

Test out our new database EBSCO Points of View Ultimate!

Are you working on an argumentative essay or speech? We have a new database for you! We have a trial subscription to EBSCO Points of View (POV) Ultimate. This expertly curated full-text database provides diverse perspectives on hundreds of debate topics. It contains political magazines, newspapers, news transcripts, blog posts, primary sources, reference books and educational videos. Points of View Ultimate supports in-depth research into global issues, helping users analyze controversial topics, develop critical thinking and improve digital literacy. Give it a try! Use the information below: Database link: https://login.ebsco.com Input Username or email: kyvltrialpov Input Trial Password: trial25! Note: This trial database cannot save results. Download or email yourself sources you wish to keep! Database trial concludes January 18, 2025 Let us know what you think about it! Click here to offer feedback about this database! If you need help finding sources with this database, or any of our resources from the Learning Commons, let us know on our Ask! page! ...

SKYCTC Learning Commons’ A – Z Databases List

Research papers are coming! Avoid paywalls and discover sources you have FREE access to with our A – Z Databases list at the SKYCTC Learning Commons! Check out our featured databases like Academic Search Complete, Gale Academic OneFile & Gale Opposing Viewpoints for your scholarly research and argumentative essays or speeches. Need help? Visit our Ask! page to ask a librarian! ...