Research Guides: Surgical Technology: Library Resources

Exam Prep Resources and Career Tools

Career Preparation
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve workplace skills.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

NBSTSA Examinations
Study aids for exam, which covers the knowledge and skills common to competent entry-level Surgical Technologists in varied settings and geographical locations.
NBSTSA Career Center
Search job postings, set-up email alerts for jobs, & post your resume
Association of Surgical Technologists - Career Center
Search job postings
Resume Help from Purdue Online Writing Lab
Help writing résumés for your job search.

Surgical Technologist Journal
Official journal of AST, digital version.
Surgical Technology
Provides information about the SKYCTC Surgical Technology program.
Association of periOperative Registered Nurses
American College of Surgeons
Surgical Procedures - Videos on MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus - Videos & Tools
Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems, and surgical procedures. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.

Human torso model

Life-size human skeleton

Miniature human muscular figure

Human respiratory system model

Disarticulated skeleton

Human brain model

Type keywords in the Library Search box below to search most of the SKYCTC, KCTCS, and KYVL databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How to Find Resources in Library Search
A short introduction to searching and saving favorites in Library Search.
Tutorial on How to Use Library Search
For an in-depth tutorial on how to do effective searches in Library Search.

CINAHL with Full Text
Full text for thousands of the most-used nursing & allied health journals.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Health and Medicine
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Nursing and Allied Health
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Career and Technical Education: Health & Medicine
This database is the definitive source for vocational information focused on health and medicine.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Health and Wellness
This comprehensive consumer health resource provides researchers with authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:

Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery by Jane C. Rothrock
ISBN: 9780323532990
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Alexander's Surgical Procedures by Jane C. Rothrock; Sherri Alexander
ISBN: 9780323292702
Publication Date: 2011-09-12
Surgical Notes by Susan Sheets
ISBN: 9780803625921
Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Wound Care at a Glance by Ian Peate; Wyn Glencross
ISBN: 9781118684672
Publication Date: 2015-04-20
Mosby's Medical Terminology Flash Cards by Mosby
Call Number: On Reserve R 123 .M673 2021
ISBN: 9780323762892
Publication Date: 2021-11-09
This set of 675 colorful flash cards makes it fun and easy to master the language of health care! Mosby's Medical Terminology Flash Cards, 5th Edition helps you memorize the prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms used to build medical terms.