Research Guides: Security: Resources

Comp TIA e-Books: Access with SKYCTC Credentials (Print copy available in the SKYCTC Library)

CompTIA Security+ Study Guide with over 500 Practice Test Questions by Mike Chapple; David Seidl
Call Number: e-book (Use Skyctc login)

ISBN: 9781394211432

Publication Date: 2023-11-03

Master key exam objectives and crucial cybersecurity concepts for the CompTIA Security+ SY0-701 exam, along with an online test bank with hundreds of practice questions and flashcards In the newly revised ninth edition of CompTIA Security+ Study Guide: Exam SY0-701, veteran cybersecurity professionals and educators Mike Chapple and David Seidl deliver easy-to-follow coverage of the security fundamentals tested by the challenging CompTIA SY0-701 exam.
CompTIA Security+ Practice Tests by David Seidl
Call Number: Access with SKYCTC login

ISBN: 9781394211395

Publication Date: 2023-12-08

Prepare for the Security+ certification exam confidently and quickly CompTIA Security+ Practice Tests: Exam SY0-701, Third Edition, prepares you for the newly updated CompTIA Security+ exam. You'll focus on challenging areas and get ready to ace the exam and earn your Security+ certification.
CompTIA Security+ All-In-One Exam Guide, Sixth Edition (Exam SY0-601) by Wm. Arthur Conklin, Greg White, Dwayne Williams, Roger L. Davis, and Chuck Cothren
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks QA76.9.A25 2021; e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)

ISBN: 9781260464016

Publication Date: 2021-04-15

This fully updated study guide covers every topic on the current version of the CompTIA Security+ exam Get complete coverage of all objectives included on the CompTIA Security+ exam SY0-601 from this comprehensive resource.
CompTIA a+ Certification All-In-One Exam Guide, Eleventh Edition (Exams 220-1101 And 220-1102) by Mike Meyers, Travis A. Everett, and Andrew Hutz
Call Number: Call Number: SKYCTC - Book Stacks TK7885.54 .E84 2023; e-book (Use Skyctc login credentials)

ISBN: 9781264610150

Publication Date: 2023-02-21

This bestselling on-the-job reference and test preparation guide has been fully revised for new 2022 exam objectives.
CompTIA Network+ Certification All-In-One Exam Guide, Eighth Edition (Exam N10-008) by Mike Meyers (Series edited by); Scott Jernigan
Call Number: SKYCTC Book Stacks TK7887 .M49 2022; e-book (use SKYCTC login credentials)

ISBN: 9781264269051

Publication Date: 2022-03-28

This up-to-date Mike Meyers exam guide delivers complete coverage of every topic on the N10-008 version of the CompTIA Network+ Certification exam .

Specialized Online Resources: Security

Journal of Computer Security
Presents research and development results of lasting significance in the theory, design, implementation, analysis and application of secure computer systems.

Cyberspies by Miller
Call Number: Access online with SKYCTC credentials

ISBN: 9781728413907

Publication Date: 2021

Stories of data breaches at companies and of threats to national security as hackers interfere with elections.
Intelligent and Connected Vehicle Security by Liu
Call Number: Access online with SKYCTC credentials

ISBN: 9788770223669

Publication Date: 2021

Technical topics discussed in the book include but are not limited to: Electronic Control Unit and Vehicular Bus Security Intra-vehicle Communication Security V2X Communication Security VANET Security Unmanned Driving Security and Navigation Deception
Unmasking the Social Engineer by Christopher Hadnagy; Paul F. Kelly (Editor); Paul Ekman (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781118608579

Publication Date: 2014-02-17

Learn to identify the social engineer by non-verbal behavior Unmasking the Social Engineer: The Human Element of Security focuses on combining the science of understanding non-verbal communications with the knowledge of how social engineers, scam artists and con men use these skills to build feelings of trust and rapport in their targets.
Social Engineering by Christopher Hadnagy
ISBN: 9781119433385

Publication Date: 2018-07-31

Harden the human firewall against the most current threats, Social Engineering: The Science of Human Hacking reveals the craftier side of the hacker's repertoire--why hack into something when you could just ask for access? Undetectable by firewalls and antivirus software, social engineering relies on human fault to gain access to sensitive spaces.

Redmond Magazine
Independent voice of the Microsoft IT community, and provides real-world technical, product, news, and industry information for experienced IT professionals working within a Windows platform computing environment.
CIO Magazine
Security news, how-tos, features, reviews, and videos.

Professional Organizations

SANS Institute
The SANS Institute was established in 1989 as a cooperative research and education organization. Its programs now reach more than 165,000 security professionals around the world. At the heart of SANS are the many security practitioners in varied global organizations from corporations to universities working together to help the entire information security community.
CompTIA
CompTIA is a non-profit trade association that advances the global interests of IT professionals and IT channel organizations and enable them to be more successful with industry-leading certifications and business credentials, education, resources and the ability to connect with like-minded, leading industry experts.
ISSA (Information Security Systems Association)
Not-for-profit, international organization of information security professionals and practitioners. It provides educational forums, publications, and peer interaction opportunities that enhance the knowledge, skill, and professional growth of its members.
ASIS International
ASIS International is a global community of more than 38,000 security practitioners, each of whom has a role in the protection of assets - people, property, and/or information.

About Cybersecurity: Online Resources

Glossary of Security Terms
This glossary of security terms was put together by the SANS institute.
What Is Cybersecurity?
Cisco's introduction to cybersecurity.
Cyber Security Tips
Created by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Cyber Security Tips describe and offer advice about common security issues for non-technical computer users.
CompTIA Security+
The Security+ exam covers the most important foundational principles for securing a network and managing risk.
Cybersecurity in Higher Education (Educause)
A guide created by the EDUCAUSE/Internet2 Higher Education Information Security Council (HEISC). This guide is a compendium of information providing guidance on effective approaches to the application of information security at institutions of higher education.
Network Security for Business (Cisco Resource Center)
A Cisco Resource Center for Small Businesses
United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT)
The Department of Homeland Security's United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) leads efforts to improve the nation's cybersecurity posture, coordinate cyber information sharing, and proactively manage cyber risks to the Nation while protecting the constitutional rights of Americans.
Onguardonline.gov
OnGuardOnline.gov is the federal government’s website to help you be safe, secure and responsible online.
Scambusters.org
A website dedicated to listing current and popular internet scams, information regarding identity theft, and more.

Search in Library Databases

Business Source Premier
Full text for more than 2,300 journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. See MarketLine Company Profiles for company research papers.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Computer Science

Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Watch this short video on how to use this database:
Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.

Off Campus Access Guide
Use your SKYCTC username and password to access most library databases off campus. Visit our Off Campus Access guide for more help or call the Library Help Desk at (270) 901-1171.

Use the WKU Courier or SKYCTC Courier Service

Need to borrow a book from another library or have a book delivered to another campus?

Use the courier service links below.

Fill out a WKU Courier Service request
We will deliver books, DVDs, videos, and audiobooks from WKU Libraries to Main Campus, Transpark, Glasgow Health, Glasgow Tech, & Franklin campuses for you to pick up!

Security: Resources

Welcome!

Comp TIA e-Books: Access with SKYCTC Credentials (Print copy available in the SKYCTC Library)

Specialized Online Resources: Security

Professional Organizations

About Cybersecurity: Online Resources

Search in Library Databases

Use the WKU Courier or SKYCTC Courier Service