It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learning Commons Services and Resources: Staff Picks
This is a guide to the SKYCTC Learning Commons services and resources. Find the services and resources in the yellow tabs below.
Edwin Arlington Robinson, (born Dec. 22, 1869, Head Tide, Maine, U.S.—died April 6, 1935, New York, N.Y.), American poet who is best known for his short dramatic poems concerning the people in a small New England village, Tilbury Town, very much like the Gardiner, Maine, in which he grew up (Encyclopaedia Britannica). Selected by Ryan Dowell, Librarian/Assistant Professor
Alfred, Lord Tennyson, in full Alfred Tennyson, 1st Baron Tennyson of Aldworth and Freshwater, (born August 6, 1809, Somersby, Lincolnshire, England—died October 6, 1892, Aldworth, Surrey), English poet often regarded as the chief representative of the Victorian age in poetry (Encyclopaedia Britannica). Selected by Michael Nichols, Writing Tutor
Emily Dickinson, in full Emily Elizabeth Dickinson, (born December 10, 1830, Amherst, Massachusetts, U.S.—died May 15, 1886, Amherst), American lyric poet who lived in seclusion and commanded a singular brilliance of style and integrity of vision. Dickinson is widely considered to be one of the two leading 19th-century American poets.
Ada Limón, a current Guggenheim fellow, is the author of five poetry collections, including The Carrying, which won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry (adalimon.com). Selected by Esther French, Librarian/Associate Professor
T.S. Eliot, in full Thomas Stearns Eliot, (born September 26, 1888, St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.—died January 4, 1965, London, England), American-English poet, playwright, literary critic, and editor, a leader of the Modernist movement in poetry in such works as The Waste Land (1922) and Four Quartets (1943). Eliot exercised a strong influence on Anglo-American culture from the 1920s until late in the century. His experiments in diction, style, and versification revitalized English poetry, and in a series of critical essays he shattered old orthodoxies and erected new ones (Encyclopaedia Britannica). Selected by Jackie Travis, Instructional Specialist - Math.
W.S. Merwin, in full William Stanley Merwin, (born September 30, 1927, New York, New York, U.S.—died March 15, 2019, Haiku, Hawaii), American poet and translator known for the spare style of his poetry, in which he expressed his concerns about the alienation of humans from their environment (Encylopaedia Britannica). Selected by Taylor Herald, Instructional Specialist - Writing
Max Ehrmann (1872-1945) was a scholar and poet, born in Terre Haute, Indiana on September 16, 1872. He died on September 9, 1945. During his life, Max Ehrmann contributed great thoughts to our literary lexicons, blending the magic of words and wisdom with his worthy observations. His deep and abiding concern over social issues are reflected throughout his many works (Sherri Lovler). Selected by Kathryne LeFevre, Director of Library & Learning Services.
Maya Angelou, original name Marguerite Annie Johnson, (born April 4, 1928, St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.—died May 28, 2014, Winston-Salem, North Carolina), American poet, memoirist, and actress whose several volumes of autobiography explore the themes of economic, racial, and sexual oppression. (Encyclopaedia Britannica). Selected by Gulnisa Karadshayeva, Math Tutor
E.E. Cummings, in full Edward Estlin Cummings , (born October 14, 1894, Cambridge, Massachusetts, U.S.—died September 3, 1962, North Conway, New Hampshire), American poet and painter who first attracted attention, in an age of literary experimentation, for his unconventional punctuation and phrasing (Encyclopaedia Britannica). Selected by Cara Moffett, Librarian/Instructor
To discover poems of your own, see a sample of library and web resources below:
Full-text resources on thousands of authors and their works. Plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, biographies, essays, fiction and poetry, reference, poetry, short stories, novels, and interviews.
With more than 2,500 core reference works from the Facts On File, Ferguson’s, and Bloom’s imprints. Coverage includes a wide range of academic subject areas—from literature and language reference, to world history, religion, and philosophy. Also includes Literary Classics eBook collection and Sacred Text eBook collection.
SKYCTC's ebooks from ProQuest. Includes 46,000+ ebooks from leading publishers including unique titles from Wiley, 130 university presses, and more and specific titles like The College Fear Factor: How Students and Professors Misunderstand One Another, Kentucky Fighting Men, 186101945, Alexander's Surgical Procedures, The Changing Academic Library, and Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery.
"The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience."
Poets.org is produced by the Academy of American Poets, the nation's leading champion of American poets and poetry since 1934. The site was launched in 1996, becoming the original online resource for poems, poets' biographies, essays about poetry, and resources for K-12 teachers.
Aims to present quality poetry from the Netherlands and worldwide to an international readership, encouraging poetry translation, stimulating the international exchange of knowledge about poetry, and facilitating an international community of poetry readers.
This groundbreaking Library of America volume offers a fresh look at early American poetry, charting its evolution from the first years of English settlement in the New World to the death of George Washington. Gathering the work of more than 100 poets-including many poems never previously anthologized and some published here for the first time-it is the most comprehensive collection of its kind ever assembled, a celebration of the rich, varied, and often surprising beginnings of American poetry.
Rich selection of 74 poems ranging from the religious and moral verse of Phillis Wheatley Peters (ca. 1753-1784) to 20th-century work of Langston Hughes and Countee Cullen. Other contributors include James Weldon Johnson, Paul Laurence Dunbar, many others. Indispensable for students of the black experience in America and any lover of fine poetry.