Showing 5 of 5 Results

Learning Commons News & Events

Enjoy Spring Break with documentaries from the SKYCTC Learning Commons on AVON

Stream Videos for Women’s History Month with Academic Video Online (AVON)

03/07/2025
0 Comments

We hope you enjoy your spring break and take some time to check out documentaries to celebrate Women’s History Month! Some critically acclaimed documentaries in our Academic Video Online (AVON) collection include: 

With Academic Video Online (AVON), you can access 90,000+ titles that span a wide range of other subject areas.  Share full videos or clips for class or with other SKYCTC employees or students.  Here are a few video collections that may be of high interest:  

If you need help finding a video for class or personal interest, don’t hesitate to ask a librarian or tutor through our Ask! page! 

American History, Diversity
National Women's History Alliance 2025 theme Moving Forward Together! Women Educating & Inspiring Generations

Women’s History Month at SKYCTC Learning Commons

02/28/2025
0 Comments

Celebrate Women’s History Month by learning about how women have shaped American history. Visit our Women in America Research Guide to browse primary source documents, print and electronic books, scholarly e-journal articles, and streaming video documentaries from women’s history. If you need any assistance finding something of interest, reach out to a librarian by visiting our Ask! page! 

American History, Literature, History, American Government, Diversity
Learning Commons Black History Month Display

Find books and more with Library Search

02/21/2025
0 Comments

Did you know the SKYCTC Learning Commons has over 5,000 print books and 1,000 DVDs in our collection for students to check out? Check out our physical collection in Building L, Room 113, including our staff picks for Black History Month on display! We will also be showcasing our display in the Social Staircase lobby in Building L on Wednesday, February 26th between 10 AM – 1 PM to celebrate Black History Month. Swing by and check out a book! 

Library Search tool interface 

Do you need to find books or other library resources for school? Use our Library Search tool to find books, articles, and videos in our library collection and databases. Library Search works best when you want to find a lot of different types of information on a topic or when you are starting your research. You can watch our video tutorial on Library Search and if you need assistance, visit our Ask! Page to request assistance from a librarian!   

American History, Reading, Diversity, Creative Writing, Arts & Humanities
Making Black America Through the Grapevine

Watch Streaming Videos for Black History Month with Academic Video Online (AVON)

02/14/2025
0 Comments
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Featured

Academic Video Online (AVON) spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes content like documentaries, films, and demonstrations from publishers like the BBC, PBS, and Sony.

Explore Black History with Academic Video Online (AVON) from the SKYCTC Learning Commons! Check out some of these documentaries, docuseries, and other video resources throughout Black History Month: 

With Academic Video Online (AVON), you can access 90,000+ titles that span a wide range of other subject areas.  Share full videos or clips for class or with other SKYCTC employees or students.  Here are a few video collections that may be of high interest:  

If you need help finding a video for class or personal interest, don’t hesitate to ask a librarian or tutor through our Ask! page! 

American History, History, Film, Diversity
decorative-image

Black History Month 2025

02/03/2025
0 Comments

Celebrate Black History Month by exploring our African American Research Guide, featuring The Learning Commons Staff Picks for recommended reading materials for Black History Month 2025 and other helpful library resources.​ 

Diversity