Off-Campus Access: Troubleshooting Off-Campus Access

Online SKYCTC databases are available 24/7 from any internet connection.  Off Campus Users are prompted for a KCTCS login.

When you try to access a library resource off-campus, you will see a page that looks like this: 

Login with your SKYCTC Email and password to access these resources from home.

Having trouble accessing resources off-campus? Try these troubleshooting tips!

• Make sure you are using the web browsers Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome
• Clear your cache then try logging on again

• Try accessing the database in incognito view

• Try visiting SKYCTC's Muse Proxy webpage below to also access our databases.

Having trouble using a library database article link? Make sure it has this prefix in the beginning of the URL: https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/SouthCentral?url=

Then add your URL!

Many SKYCTC databases are part of the Kentucky Virtual Library(KYVL). Try KYVL databases below! Contact the Help Desk (270-901-1171) for the username and password, which is different than your SKYCTC login.

Still stuck?  We can help.  Contact the Help Desk at 270-901-1171 or submit a question by using the Ask a Librarian or Tutor button below. 

Need help starting your research for a particular class or subject? (Ex: Radiography, English)

Use SKYCTC Research Guides to:

• Browse popular guides 
• Choose a guide by area of study

*Don't forget - research guides provide access to subject specific :

• books
• eBooks
• websites
• journals
• & databases!

Need to find a specific database by name? (Ex: Academic Search Complete, Opposing Viewpoints)

Browse the A-Z Database Guide!

Still need help?  Contact us via Ask a Librarian or Tutor.